You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Age of Information - University Vs Youtube - A Response to Ecotrain QOTW...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I have a BS degree that I don't use (retired Army), but I used YouTube a lot while in college and it helped in a big way. However, it can never replace the hours spent in the lab and in the field where most of my real learning took place. That was built on the foundation of the classroom and textbooks. Another thing I must say college gave me, was it thought me how to critically think. That is something I never learned on my own in high school or the Army. It's sad but true. I, for one, am a strong advocate for higher learning. Plus I am the first of my family to get a degree and I love holding it above my high school friends hahaha

Sort:  

I'm for higher learning (but Universities are not always the place where that happens anymore) and I think critical thinking is a valuable skill to attain but can it be learned elsewhere?
My dad was the first in his family to go to university and that is why he was such a firm believer in education and wanted all his kids to have the chance to go to university or college too but I think the educational system has changed since that time dad went and I really don't think you are truly being educated in the best way possible there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13