Sort:  

I agree that depression is the result of chemical imbalances in the brain, however, on the one hand, if there are biological causes of this imbalances, on the other hand, our day to day life experiences, hassles, and negativity also cause depression, thus I think, negative media can be one cause of depression.

Everything is SO profoundly interconnected!! And yes, everything interfaces and interacts, 'tis true. Grateful for you support and engagement - following you from here in Thailand. :)

This is a tough question, but you give a solid answer. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @mtnmeadowmomma. Congratulations.

Oh that's super nice feedback! I am planning on wiring my own piece for the #payitforwardcontest later today. @mtnmeadowmomma is one very smart, interesting and community minded steem player. Grateful. Following you from down here in Northern Thailand. :)

Wanted to let you know that @mtnmeadowmomma featured you in their entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

There is a first time entry bonus for those who come join the contest that you might be interested in. Read that post for how to qualify for the bonus.

Much gratitude, @thedarkhorse Off to investigate and support - I am a VERY FIRM BELIEVER in Pay It Forward and practice that actively in my own life. Thanks for the heads up. Following you from Chiang Mai here in Northern Thailand :)

Love how steemit brings the entire world a little closer. I'm here in the Chicago area, USA.

:) Nice to connect. I just glanced at the Pay It Forward Curation - and yes, I want to adn will engage. It's a super busy hot Friday afternoon and I have some time constraints right this moment, so I will wander back tonight and read again in the cool of the tropical evening and craft an entry post for you too. :) Much gratitude for awesome curation work. I am too new to steemit to know how to do love hearts yet (haha!) but consider one plonked right here. :)

I think one of the underestimated things in life is our mental stability. And taking a life as your loved one is the ultimate phase of that, but the road towards there is a difficult one when the mind isnt working with us.

Despression is no joke and an imbalance that is not easy to fix. Every organ has their own doctor but for the brain everything always seems to be way too vague still. We dont know enough about it..at all!

gone but not forgotten!

We are learning every day about how the whole body works in harmony (or not) but yes, we have soooo much more to learn and so many fallacies to release! Grateful for your kind support, my dear. x

Lovely write-up! Yes, there are triggers around us but it is us who let them affect us. I love how you used the photo of the lotus in this article. Such a nice way to soothe the depression. <3

Thanks for the sweet support @sharoonyasir Much appreciated. :)

What a wonderful post about the power of transforming something ugly into something beautiful. I struggle with SAD and/or stress related depression, and over time I've come to realize I DO usually have the choice to focus on those things that drag me down, and let myself wallow in them; or I can shift the focus.

I'm mentally bookmarking that lotus analogy for future "refocus" needs ❤️

Thank you for awesome support and for submitting my post for the Pay It Forward curation. I am off to investigate!! So glad my humble post was able to lend a different perspective and maybe helps one person. Grateful! :)

You're welcome! It's very well deserved :)

I reall love how you approached and answered this question, it is so true that we have control over the things that influence us, we an decide to let them in or not, this is definitely true for some more than others. What a beautiful tribute you have written. thank you x

Such a gracious, generous and thoughtful comment @trucklife-family Thank you!! I hope somewhere "out there" Christopher's spirit feels the gentle touch of love and respect.

Very beautifully written, and I could not agree more with what you say. Depression is real and the people that struggle with it have a harder time each and every day than those who don't. But there are many things even they can do to help control that depression and make every day a positive and beneficial one.

Thank you for the sincere and kind comments, @daywoo0311 Look forward to engaging more. Following you from Chiang Mai here in Northern Thailand. :)

Congratulations @artemislives! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What a beautiful response, image, and inspiration. It's this incredibly delicate balance because there comes a point in depression where it's so hard to want to take care of yourself. At that point things can get very dark very quickly as you are well aware. We have to be vigilant and care for ourselves before it gets dark. It has been a process for me of learning to notice when it is coming because I never faced any really intense bouts until my late 30's. Thanks so much for sharing this.

Thank you. Yes, superb self care... caring for ourselves and those we love before it gets dark. Yes, it can go from "feeling down" to suicide in days. We have to be mindful enough in our own Being to FEEL the tinge of grey starting and make those choices while we are able.

That really is key. Catching it in time. I think it helps to have others around who understand and can see the early signs.

Only sometimes there ARE no signs, cos the person is so accomplished at hiding their feelings and putting out a persona. It is what it is. We do what we can. We love, and sometimes people choose to sink and not reach out to the extended hand. We simply bless them, heal and move on. And resolve to watch those around us whom we love and give them space to be less than perfect.

So very true! So many of us are really good at hiding, and its often part of the shame. As a species, we seem to have so much trouble receiving help or anything else. And of course we have terrible trouble not being perfect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66