You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are we waiting to appreciate the now?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

It doesn't matter if any of it is ever finished. Could you be happy just walking away from it tomorrow and living in a small hut on a mountain? Is it all a burden? So much of what I see on homesteading is people making large crosses to martyr themselves on. The idea of ease, food forests, letting nature just BE, of building less and looking at the view more.... that all works for me.

Good that you've made this reflective space.

My NOW - right now - is wonderfully incomplete and perfect. Coffee, Mothers Day morning in Thailand, looking at the next monsoonal deluge arriving over the mountain and changing my garden ideas, listening to the monks at the local temple - their chants for the Queen (Mother of the Nation) are drifting on the wind across the ricefields. Birds are singing and the soft breeze is perect and cool.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain
Sort:  

You're right, and IT WON'T ever be finished. Good insights. A hut on the mountain has been my home at others times, and I suppose now I am attached to this life and outcomes of things we've set it motion. Just to be clear, no it's not all a burden. Far from it. Times spend in yin appreciation on the homestead and watershed are more rewarding that the many years of traveling and hundreds of new places I've visited or lived at.

Perhaps it relates to claiming responsibility to tend/manage/guide the process on the land that lead to so much of the martyrdom you speak of. I can relate that so many folks seeing a life in connection to Earth take on the responsibility of meeting their own needs and doing their own work. I've lived by the seat of my pants for years, and it came to a point where I knew it would no longer work for me.

Enjoy the rice field and chanting. You're bringing back fond memories...

I guess the challenge is to accept the responsibility but drop the attachment. And to allow the earth and seasons to guide-shape the process and to follow that more. 16 years here and committed thoroughly, but never irrevocably. The life here is Asia is so much more Yin and I appreciate that more each day.

Have an awesome week with more Yin and more smiles and relax. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66