Sort:  

Jackfruit is one of my favorite fruits. Whenever I am in Bangkok visiting my family I am always looking for jackfruit. I did not know it oozes out a sticky latex. I have never prepared it myself but I do enjoy them in curries. Now when I see a pot of curry I will have deep respect for the person who took all that trouble to prepare it. Thank you for sharing, it was definitely super informative!

Nice that you get to enjoy it when you visit family in Bangkok. :) Yes, it IS quite a lot of work. But I'm guessing one gets better and faster at it and manages to prepare other things and wash dishes in between. :) Be in touch if you find yourself in Chiang Mai. :)

I definitely will let you know when I plan my next trip to Thailand. My husband has been wanting to take a trip to Pai so we will stop in Chiang Mai before heading up to Pai.

Filippino recipe Ginataang Langka, jackfruit in coconut milk.
For a vegetarian version just don´t use dilis (dried fish)

I am sooooooo checking this out!! :) Thank you!!!

Jackfruit is actually quite versatile. My favorite is jackfruit spicy curry and I also love jackfruit chips and cakes! I never appreciate how beneficial it actually is until yours shed some light about its benefit.

Glad to have been able to add some depth of knowledge to a food you already enjoy. :)

😊 Totally, the more I read about my culture from different perspective and background, the more I appreciate it more!

As having the only tree in the neighbourhood, my mom used to give out cut parts in the neighbourhood. When about to go home from abroad, she will keep them in the freezer for me. The seeds can be boiled and dip in sugar. As for the benefits, no one knows but it is liked for those juicy yellow pieces.
Cooking it with coconut depends where filipinos come from.
You can make jam from those too.

OK, I am off to research jackfruit jam. I'm not much of a jam eater but it might deal with all my festive season & new year gift giving "issues" in one hit. :) Nice to hear about your mom and yes, the locals here also split up one huge ripe fruit and share it round the neighbourhood. :)

Oh anyone there would love a jackfruit jam..the dried pieces are yummy too..you don't fancy it still?

I absolutely love this fruit! and other similar jackfruit varieties!!!! the ripe fruit, the raw one for meat replacement sooooo good! im very jealous right now, this was my fav meal when I was in asia making pulled pork!!!! thanks for the health information, i never knew about the sexual support for men! :) :)

Thanks A Lot, I really learned something here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70