What if abundance was the norm?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #economy7 years ago

Have you ever assumed something was true without question, and then years later start to see that the assumption was just that, an assumption, rather than a universal law?

That assumption for me has been the scarcity of resources and how that forms the backbone for an economy to function. I'm not sure where I first heard that idea. It may have been something I simply absorbed. I do believe it was further spelled out in economics classes, though. The idea is that goods and services I might want to have are scarce, and so they cost money, and I have to make tough decisions about which goods and services I am willing to pay for and which ones I will choose to forego in favor of other ones. Entire economies run based on lots of people chasing around relatively scarce products. They pay good money for those products, making others rich. Money itself, which buys me the products I opt to pay for, is the ultimate scarce resource.

This assumption of scarcity of resources tends to lead to various economic philosophies, which aren't as different from each other as people holding them dear would like to think. On one side you have Communism, which basically tries to take from those who have much and give to those who have little or none (although it rarely works out that way in practice--there are rich Communists on top and poor ones on the bottom). On the other side you have Capitalism, which basically says if you work hard enough and smart enough you should be entitled to all your earnings and profits and your contribution back is to create jobs for others.

What I see around me and experience is that lots of people work really hard (either as entrepreneurs or employees) to earn enough money to support themselves and their families in what they would consider to be a decent life. For some that involves living it up and having some luxuries; for others that involves staying one step ahead of the bills and having enough left over to buy groceries. It's as if there isn't enough money to go around or something. And yet you keep hearing about people who have lots of it.

A couple months ago I learned about VIVA coin and the VIVAconomy, and ever since then I have been questioning this assumption of scarcity. What if scarcity really isn't the norm? What if we could have an economy based on a paradigm of abundance instead? How might it work?

I hope to explore this concept further in a series of essays, but for now I'll leave you with a few questions.

What if all good work could be accounted for in the economy? Just one case in point. I'm a mother and I work hard all day at various tasks revolving around raising children and trying to keep the house in some sort of order. Although my husband and children depend on me doing this work, I do not get paid for it. One day a week I go to my paid job and that's where I relax. I get stuff done at a nice pace where I'm not interrupted by little people, and that's what I get compensated for. I'm not complaining about the fact that no one pays me money to be a mother, but I think there is something wrong with an economy that doesn't in some way account for the work I and many mothers do. It's not just mothers. It's people taking care of their homes and growing gardens and creating art. All those things and more seem incredibly valuable, what I would consider to be good work, but they don't get compensated. So again, what if all good work could be accounted for in the economy?

If an economy could account for everything of value, what would it look like? What would it be like to live in that economy?

What if the economy just assumed a living wage for everyone? I'm not talking about mandatory minimum wage or even universal basic income. I'm just wondering what it might be like if in a similar way that our current economy does not formally value the contribution of motherhood, for example, a different sort of economy assumed that everyone would be doing good work in some way so they wouldn't have to prove it with a paycheck. What if you could have your basic needs met, and then focus your efforts not on meeting those basic needs but on doing spectacularly good work?

In a scarcity based economy the idea of basic needs being automatically met raises lots of hackles. You think about welfare queens and the like. But maybe in a different sort of economy, that would be like of course you get your basic needs met. How else are you going to get any real work done?

What if abundance, rather than scarcity, was the norm?

Your thoughts?

Sort:  

I think you're spot on. It's our belief that allows us to be exploited. We "buy" the narrative that we live in scarcity, when the reality is that's a lie. We have issues with distribution of resources, not scarcity. Humans have lived in a post survival era since the industrial revolution.

Our problem is that we over value certain contributions while under valuing others. Teachers make 40k in the US and investment bankers make seven figures....Uh No, the bankers do not bring value that is 25x that of a teacher. CEOs do not bring 400x value over their administrative assistants.

Neoclassical economics has brought on this lie and it's basically a theft. We allow the wealthy to influence politics and therefore they write rules that work for their interests and we allow it.

The time has come for a paradigm shift and concepts like VIVA are the future.

I have definitely noticed the discrepancy in pay between certain kinds of lawyers or financiers and teachers. My husband and I both teach and have the meager paychecks to show for it. I once joked with my husband that if he really wanted to make some good money, he had to pick a destructive career. Teaching was just way too constructive to be well compensated. The undercompensation of teachers is another example of how our current economy doesn't adequately account for good work.

Another "lie" that I believed was just normal was the inevitability of inflation. I remember getting my first job and being told by the agent setting up my retirement account that I had to save up x amount and have it growing at y interest rate so as to keep pace with inflation. It wasn't until much later that I read a book that explained all about how inflation was a hidden tax by which the poor essentially pay the elites' bills.

That brings me to another thing that isn't adequately accounted for in our current economy, the concept of bills. I used to think of myself as a "free market capitalist" until I realized that many times the so called capitalist success stories weren't operating by the free market (not really) and they weren't paying all their bills. For example, the factory that makes widgets and pollutes the river to do so and is not required to pay the costs of cleanup. So either the river stays polluted and the people who pay the bills are those who live downstream eating the poisoned fish, or the government cleans up at taxpayer expense. I figure in a real free market, all the bills are paid by the capitalist and those costs are passed along into the cost of the widget and those of us who want them can buy the widgets but we don't have to. But having other people, like the fish eaters downstream, pay the bills so the capitalist can get rich off selling underpriced widgets is really not fair.

Anyway, my point is that if the examples above are really not normal, but rather the results of certain people gaming the system (cheating), then it's not too much of an intellectual stretch to think that maybe the whole "reality" of scarcity could also be the result of certain individuals gaming the system, and that if there was a way to have them not cheat, then who knows what all is possible?

Loading...

In nature, abundance is the law...in the universe, abundance is the law, why would human beings limit themselves? How would that be if we could generate whatever we need in respect to everyone else's needs? would this be a kind of golden age? thank you for your post!

"if we could generate whatever we need in respect to everyone else's needs" That's key, I think. Right now we tend to be very self-sufficiency oriented, at least in the US. There's this sense that you have to do it all yourself--provide for yourself and your family, etc. But I think a key part of abundance-based thinking is that you believe that you yourself are provided for by the benevolent actions of God, and that means you don't have to claw your way to provision and instead can very freely give to those around you, in effect, passing it on, or paying it forward. So it looks like this: God is generous to me (either directly by miracle or through other people), and then I am generous and that results in other people experiencing God's generosity through me, and in this way everyone involved experiences abundance.

@wiser, Thank you for having a different vision for humanity, one where abundance is the norm. Mother Nature actually has that form. One tree has many apples etc. Everything multiplies a lot and so actually offers abundance on Planet Earth. I am just wondering what went wrong with our diverse systems that not everyone on Planet Earth benefits from the abundance model of Mother Earth.

maybe because of the greed of man? when one starts to generate wealth and he doesn't share some of his earnings with his fellow men, then does he starts to keep abundance for himself? and block a stream of abundance that could flow from human to human, maybe this causes lack to other people?

In order to be generous like you say, you have to believe that there is more where that came from. Otherwise you tend to want to hoard, and then that can constrict the flow of abundance to other people.

Well, the theological answer to your question is of course that early on, mankind chose to not trust God and instead strive to get what God was going to freely offer in their own way.

You're totally right about nature being abundant. I think a lot of the not benefiting from nature's model has to do with not cooperating with nature--trying to conquer, rather than work with nature. And why would we do that? Because we have this fallen tendency to do things in a different way than what God designed.

Yes! I've also been thinking about Isaiah 55 a lot lately and really trying to wrap my mind around it
'Ho! Everyone who thirsts, come to the waters ;
And you who have no money,
Come buy and eat,
Yes, come, buy wine and milk
Without money and without price.
Why do you spend money for what is not bread
And your wages for what does no satisfy?
Listen carefully to Me and eat what is good,
And let your soul delight itself in abundance......'

If we listen to Him, we will have everything. We don't need politicians, mass media mouthpieces and celebrities dictating to us. We don't need their fiat currencies either. That is the very problem, because they benefit heavily and derive all of their power from the false mindset of scarcity.

May we all truly understand what it means for our souls to 'delight in abundance'.

Then the world would be a far better place.

Agreed.

I remember as a teenager reading that some ancient Greek philosopher had said that "money" had to be relatively rare in order to work as money. If everyone had plenty of it (such as dirt) no one would be interested in trading their hard work for it. But it also had to be abundant enough that people saw it regularly and knew they could trade it for other things. (I'm happy to trade US Dollars or Steem for finished product, but I'd hesitate if someone offered me crisp new French Francs.) So there seems to be a kind of balance.

In Brazil years ago I noticed street vendors selling amazing toys made out of 2-Liter pop bottles. The vendors were reasonably busy, too. The pop bottles were abundant, but the toys were not. Nobody was working hard to obtain pop bottles, but kids were standing in line to get the toys.

Maybe it's the abundance of raw materials and rarity of quality finished product that is important. Maybe the reason people feel stressed about "money" is that they feel they do not have an abundance of raw resource, or any ability to turn it into a valued trade-able product. Their only raw material seems to be time, of which they don't really have enough, and many don't feel any confidence that they can turn it into a valuable product.

Or maybe it's that currently only one local type of "money" is regularly accepted at most businesses, and many feel shut out of getting that resource in abundance. Perhaps a simple proliferation of widely accepted currencies is needed most!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62750.78
ETH 2444.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66