You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A defence of Tim Ferriss's Four Hour Week - important book for other reasons than you think

in #economy7 years ago

I read this book very early after graduating and appreciate the time in my life when I read it. It didn't change my life and I didn't suddenly create a lifestyle business, but I definitely enjoyed Tim Ferris' perspective on the rat race and seeing it from a different, more self-sufficient, angle. I agree he can come off as a little douchey and scammy, but that aspect has quieted down with future books.

I think the most value comes from understanding his new paradigm. The rat-race method is safe, predictable, comfortable and boring. Doing things yourself, leveraging technology and global help, and setting out on the 'different path'. I've used this paradigm to talk folks out of boring MBAs that wouldn't honestly have satisfied them. They tried to take the 'safe' path instead of the right path for them.

Ultimately, I'm pro his experiment-first methodology which aligns with lean startup methods and evolutionary design, and I'm glad he's able to vocalize a different yet effective path for others. I've followed his books pretty consistently since then : "4 Hour body", "Tools of Titans".

Minimum Viable Dose is one of my favorite concepts and is great from understanding the pareto principal and leverage in general.

Give me a lever and a place to stand and I will move the earth -- Archimedes

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment! Great to hear from you!
I think for me it is much the same, I read it after already making up my mind to go vagabonding for a year. So obviously I already went through the first chapters of the thought process.
But I appreciated nevertheless to get some validation (it is said that what we think is a good book is determined in a large part how much we agree with the ideas in it).

For me the same, I did not go on to create a lifestyle business but it did "stick" very well and helped me understand that everything is negotiable.

It helped me get a job in the UK and they allowed me to commute from Spain. Location independence is such a multiplier in life!

I find I constantly use concepts from the book, in my own life, working with coaching clients, working on consultancy projects,... it is surprising how universally useful they are.

Of course he did not invent most of these concepts, but he curated an awesome toolkit that aside from tactics also paid attention to the mental side, which is often overlooked.

For me the most powerful aspect of the book is that it is one that taught me to always question assumptions.
A lot of "common sense" advice is simply out of date in an ever changing world.

Experimentation and minimum viable dose are great concepts,
I see a lot of material for future posts! What are the concepts from the book you think I should discuss first?

Ohh, thats tricky. Its been too long since I read the book to dig into anything too specific. It would probably be interesting to here how your time vagabonding overlaps with the themes of the book.

Or, how asking for non-monetary things - like location-agnostic work, or more vacation time - can ultimately be more fulfilling and get you off the rat-race sooner.

yeah that is a good one. could be about the inherent trade off's we make to get a job, what are the implications that has on your cost of living etc. Will probably think about it during the weekend ! Thanks for the suggestion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54