You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to think about Steemit.com and navigate it...Lessons from "New rules for the new economy by Kevin Kelly"

in #economy7 years ago (edited)

Glad I found you @the-traveller (with 2 ll's) I posted an author on your introduceyourself post and going to repost it here, sorry, just wasn't sure if that comment would get lost. Anyhow a suggested person to follow would be @allforprivacy, unfortunately he doesn't look to be active as far as commenting as he reblogs from his website(I subscribe to his newsletter, disclaimer, I have no financial connection with him or his site)
I will check out the Kevin Kelly link, looks intriguing, I'm surprised I haven't come across him.
I'd have to characterize myself as a "Maven Wannabe" or maybe "Maven-Lite" as I have some of the qualities, but no depth, as I tend to get easily distracted and start chasing white rabbits, and then....

Oh, and resteemed.


SDG

Sort:  

Hi @Sighmanjestah many thanks for the introduction to @allforprivacy and yourself, I am following both of you with anticipation.
Thanks for the re-steem!

I think being a Maven is a skill like any other, one which in the new economy can pay off handsomely: if you think about it it is curation at elite level: you are a filter for the huge onslaught of information. If you can help your audience filter out the noise and more importantly directly connect worthwhile people, that will be enormously appreciated. Remember Tim Ferrris? That is his basic strategy with his podcast and investing, see how that worked out for him!

Lol,

Remember Tim Ferrris?

Yeah, that's what I'm talking about re my short attention span. I have 2 of his books, both just barely cracked open. Probably at the time I purchased them, something else caught my attention.

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 7.17.06 PM.png

Like I said, are you sure you don't work for Amazon?

Hehe might need to start an amazon affiliate account... my ultimate goal is to curate a toolbox built from the concepts in these books and build it into a more coherent set of ideas. I did the above post in defence because I think a lot of people did not get how powerful and universally applicable the underlying concepts are going to be in the next few years. They saw another get rich quick book, I see a very analytical look at the assumtions behind modern life and a journal about the experiments to find the limits of leverage you can apply. Need to post about that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56582.63
ETH 2959.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25