Week 7 Update | #ShopSmallLiveBig

in #economy6 years ago

Have you ever considered how hard it is to invest in your 401k from a local level? Having never had a 401k since this week, I had not considered it but I am here to tell you that it is, in fact, very difficult. In the end it became a question of, "Which option is the least commercial?" I don't like being put in that situation when I'm used to asking, "Which one is the most local," or "Which one is the most beneficial?" The skinny of it is that none of the options that I was presented would have left me feeling good about my decision while this experiment is still going on so I opted for a very low-risk, low-return option that I will re-evaluate for diversification in 2019.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

Other than that internal turmoil, I have shockingly continued to spend the vast majority of my spent income on food. This time, however, I was able to spend way too much money at a local grocery store - and I wasn't even shopping hungry! I got some really awesome stuff at the D&R Market in Lafayette, Indiana. I'll be posting a small business showcase video on YouTube so stay tuned for that.

Honestly, the only thing I have going for me in the coming week is that I'm making teeny, tiny, half-hearted strides toward getting started on the cob planters. I'm going to be making phone calls this afternoon and spending this week trying to clean out space in my kitchen for the project to begin. I might even have some helping hands lined up so I might not even be lying this time!

Am I the only one who can't wait for the season of farmer's markets and street festivals?!

Sort:  

Yes! I feel you. I recently found out about subscriptions that deliver irregular produce right to your door and have been meaning to do more research on it. Have you tried Imperfect Produce or anything like it?..

Also, about to go check out your youtube! Thanks for sharing 💙

That is interesting! I haven't heard of anything like that but it's something to look into for sure. I won't be participating this year because this experiment is to see if I can only shop at locally owned establishments for 2018. I'll let my best friend know, though! Thanks for checking me out <3

Thats the great thing about some of those programs— they're local farmers!

I'll check it out but if the overall Imperfect Produce service isn't local and they take a portion of the profit then it won't be in line with the experiment I'm doing. If that is the case, I will still keep it in mind for after the experiment is over as well as share the idea with my friends (both farmer friends and consumer friends)! It is a great idea(:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33