Mindful Consumerism: Week 4 Update #ShopSmallLiveBig

in #economy6 years ago

One month down, eleven more go to!

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

I can't believe it's already been a month. I feel like time is flying by. One thing that I am shocked to report is that I don't feel like I'm going without anything. I was already very conscious of the local economy before beginning this experiment and I don't feel like it has been a gigantic change.

The biggest deal has been grocery shopping. I've only done one proper grocery haul this month and that was at Murphy's Food King in Kentland, Indiana. If you would like a small virtual tour of this place filmed by a shaky hand, I encourage you to check out the Small Business Showcase video I did for this shop on the Perceiving A Life channel on YouTube. I could stand to go to the grocery store again but I am confident that I can make it until this weekend so I can check out another little grocery store in another little town north of here.

I haven't bought too much this week that is worth mentioning. I overpaid for spaghetti sauce at the convenience store down the street because I was in a hurry and the next closest market had closed at 4pm that day. My dog ate all of my shoes except my rain and snow boots so I went to the thrift store that is run by the church down the street and got some ballet flats and a pair of sneakers. Other than that, I have pretty much only spent money at restaurants for takeout because I've been so bad about making time to cook lately.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

I've been super busy these last two weeks and my documentation of what I'm doing has also been lacking. Hopefully in the coming weeks I'll be able to stick to a more regular schedule and that will help me stay on top of my updates and Small Business Showcase videos. Thanks for hanging in there with me, guys!

If you're familiar with northern Indiana and you have a small business you would like me to check out, please get in touch with me and I'll do my best to make it happen before the year is up!
Sort:  

Sounds like we're doing similar things this year! Excited to take a look at the rest of your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52