More tips to save money!

in #economy6 years ago

Hello Steemit,
As most of you guys know, saving money is important. Why should you save money? Well, first of all, the most money you save, the more money you can spend on other resources or the more security you will gain. Here will be some tips in order to save money. I try to follow most of them as it helps me with other activities. I have seen my spendings cut and I can now use that money to go on holiday. These tips should help you without downgrading your satisfaction.

1. Follow the 30-day rule.

What does that mean? Well, it is quite simple, before you buy something expensive, an asset, for example, a new tv, a new car, a new couch or something like this, you should wait 30 days. If the urge to buys fades, it probably means that you didn’t need this item, otherwise, well, go for it. This limits your buying a lot and personally, it helped me buy less junk.

2. When you go shopping, make a list, and stick to it!

Many people make list when they go shopping, some don’t or some make lists but don’t follow these lists. I can tell you that when you check at your home beforehand and lists all your groceries and stick to it, it helps you save a lot of money. I know it sounds silly but I use this now and buy less useless things. It is also usually good for your health ;)

3. Make price comparisons

Be smart about what you buy. Use the coupons you receive, check the different stores about the prices. It is a lot easier than it used to be, almost everything is on the net now and it just takes a few minutes to check prices. Some stores charge a lot more for exactly the same products. So be smart, and check the prices, easy savings can be made this way for the same products.

4. Don’t always buy brands but try generic

Indeed, some brands have higher quality than generic products but not for everything. This will be up to you, just try generic toilet paper for example, is it truly worse? Maybe yes, then stick to the brand you love but otherwise just buy generic as it is less expensive.

5. Don’t hesitate to try second-hand products

This a strange one for some people. For example, in Belgium, it is not always in our culture to buy used things, but it is on its way. A lot of Facebook pages exist with people selling their stuff or people making requests to buy things. I was on exchange in the US and over there, I feel like it is normal to go to a second-hand store and buy clothes or other stuff. One of my favorite sweaters cost only 7 dollars because it comes from a second-hand store but it is impossible to tell. The quality is perfect so why not?

6. Drink more water

As a big fan of soda, this was difficult for me. But now, whenever I am thirsty, I try to drink water. It is much less expensive and whenever I drink soda now, it feels like an enjoyment and not just something casual. Maybe buying a water filter can help, it is an investment but it is worthwhile in the long term. The positive side is not only monetary but it is also good for your health!

7. Go to free events

Some events are organized by the community, by the city or by other things. Some might not interest you but some are great. You don’t always have to pay to go to activities. My city organized a music festival this week. There were many concerts every single day. Some were free of charges, some were not. But I went to great free concerts and I am glad I checked those out. Some musea provide free visits on particular days.

8. Speak with your neighbors!

Having contact with your neighbors can bring great benefits in multiple aspects! For example, you could swap babysitting with them instead of paying a babysitter. This can make for great savings. Or you could share tools, machinery, a trailer and more. I know that sometimes, people may believe that their neighbors are stupid. Well, maybe yes, maybe no but you could both be saving money by doing things together.

9. Simple things can make for great memories!

You don’t always have to go to an expensive recreational mall for your children or for birthdays. For example, when I was a child, for my birthdays, my parents usually organized parties in my garden. They made games for us such as running with an egg on a spoon the fastest. Games with water balloons and much more. This is less expensive than to bring the children to go bowling or other things and I can tell you it is just as much fun if not more! I have great memories of these activities. Try to be inventive.

10. Look ahead, learn from your mistakes

Learning from your mistakes is essential. Maybe you bought something you regret, learn from it. Maybe you got scammed, learn from it. Don’t do the same mistakes twice. And the opposite goes the same way, if you made a great deal thanks to an event or thanks to promotions, learn from it. Always keep in mind the good and bad choices you have made.

Sort:  

I would add one if I can. Grow a garden if you are able. It's seriously like printing money. I realize most people live in cities and land is in short supply. However, there are many open source designs for terrace, balcony, and rooftop garden systems that will pay for themselves over and over again.

Nice post. Thank you

This is totally true! I try it myself but I am having quite a struggle with plants.. however, a great tip!

What kind of space are you working with? Yard, patio, or a balcony or something else?

Obviously light, water, temperature, and nutrients are important so what are those conditions LIKE?

What do you want to grow? Like what can you grow instead of buying, and of that what do you buy the most of?

#2 . is my favorite. I always seem to let my eyes wander while I'm shopping (especially down the cookie isle). 😬 Great list!

As everyone does! :) this one is hard to follow sometimes..

Thank you so much for giving me the right way for this savings is very good for day shopping money. i am very interested with your suggestion. I will practice this way.

Good luck and happy that you enjoyed my tips! :)

Superb article
Great idea unleashed @jarendesta
Following you for more of this

Thanks a lot! :)

Resteem Promo Offer
Re-steem Post Unlimited For 1 Week
anime.gif
Send 2 SBD or 2 STEEM To @stoneboy - Post Url in the Memo - Your Post Will Be Re-steem to 9500+ followers 2 different accounts.

Note : This offer is only for one time. After that the regular rate will be applied.

Nice post @jarendesta and the garden birthday parties sure bring back memories :)

Happy to see I am not the only one! ;)

30 day rule the 2nd:
Make sure you have all neccessities for at least another 30 days before spending money on anything else.

Brand vs. generic: Make sure whats marketed as cheap actualy is. Sometimes you will find a "best price" item which, sure enough, costs only half of an alternative product but contains only one third of the product.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78