You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Money? Part 1: Real vs. Financial Assets

in #economics6 years ago

I totally didn't understand "fiat has value because of taxes" when you first commented this. But then I heard this sociology professor tell the actual historical story of money and coins, and it all made sense! I had been believing the economist's story of money - that it developed because of a need for a common unit of exchange - which isn't actually historically accurate and leads to a real misunderstanding.

It reminded me of this convo and I had to come comment. I think it's a very important misconception to correct if you're going to talk about how fiat has value bc of taxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46