You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freakonomics - Poverty & Crime

in #economics7 years ago

I had a friend who read Freakonomis when it came out years ago who recommended it, but I never got around to reading it myself.

Interesting correlation (causation ??) concerning legal abortions.

My name is Jess, I typically write about finance, but I've never heard this one. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Same boat myself - has been on my list for ages but put off as I always wanted a physical copy.

I would definitely say causation but it just goes to reaffirm the author's theory that it's not how it always seems from the front. Usually there's a lot more going on behind the scenes or the problems we face should be looked on a global level - i.e does poverty really link to crime? Well let's try using a universal welfare system where you get an allowance regardless of status - does the quality of life improve? I think if we asked the right questions (another key point the authors go on) we might find the answers. Going back to crime - well, we ask why do people commit crime? Necessity? Is it a physical or mental desire? Once we ask the right questions we find the solutions are usually in front of us.

Glad you enjoyed it - I plan to release a mini series on this book, still going through it myself! Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45