The Pleasure Of Corporate Take Overs

in #economics7 years ago

Corporate Nonsense

IMG_20140929_134855480.jpg
I work at a small pizza store. It is a part time job that I work on the weekends generally thursday, friday and saturday. The pizza store that I work at was privately owned but was still a franchise. I dont know how much you know about franchises in Canada but or anywhere else, but I have done a fair amount of thinking and at least some research into them, but for the most part what happens is you pay a franchise buy in fee to use the company name on your store. Then once you have done so you are given easy access channel to get in our case pizza sauce toppings and doe to make pizzas. One of the sad things about this is that you are not allowed to set your own prices or your own deals, you are not allowed to buy pizza sauce from anyplace except the franchise corporation.

To say the least anyway my previous boss was very much finished with this nonsense, he has a quarter of a brain. Now corporate has taken over and now we are being run by the corporation, so we have been assigned a store manager. However I have yet to see a single intelligent action or hear an intelligent statement from our new manager. I really am not sure how well this will go, however I suppose we will see.

Thank you for your time and attention.

Logomakr_6m9Y20.png

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about this. I hope it goes well for you.

Thanks for the kind words man, I hope it goes well too...but if not no big deal. I am not attached to the job anyway :)

It's normal that a franchise store can't set their own prices and discount deals, you're part of a company that has stores in all of the country, it would be weird if like different mac donalds have different prices.

If you want to make your own deals and prices, just start your own store. Running a franchise is just an easy way to get some good experience in having a store, and without the risk of losing everything you have.

If it isnt a risk of losing everything you have, why is my old boss walking away from the deal without even getting his original deposit back out? Also I am well aware of what is "NORMAL" What I am questioning here is what is right. Very different creatures, I dont know if you ever noticed that. Please consider for a moment that slavery was once legal....

It depends on the country then I guess, Here in Holland I know there are good rules for working as a franchise manager, u even have contracts where u get paid a monthly salary with added bonuses of income generated with the store. Sure u can lose stuff if you invest your own money in the store, but that's not needed if u run a franchise store. Your still working for a company after all.

Sorry I read this after and realised it could have come across offensive. Here in Canada when you purchase a franchise you can lose money, it is also possible to be the manager of a franchise without owning it. The first case is what my previous boss was dealing with.

Aah, like that. Thank you for the clarification. I really like discussing these matters as they really interested me, I appreciate it that you share this knowledge with me.

I guess i´m really lucky with the Dutch laws for franchise management.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51