You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does the World Need a Universal Basic Income? Could Steem Power It?

in #economics8 years ago

I don't have a paragraph to write but I know for a fact that universal income will eventually happen. I believe it will act like unemployment but if you want to earn more you will have to find that job or create your own business.

Sort:  

All the proposals I've seen emphasize the basic nature of it, meaning people would just barely be able to survive. The key difference, to me, between welfare and UBI is that welfare, in it's current form, punishes people for trying to obtain extra income. A UBI, I think, could potentially free people up to do work they love that is the most meaningful to them and, potentially, more meaningful to society.

I'm not completely sold on it yet, but I do think it's a very interesting idea and, as you said, I think it's coming regardless of what I think about it.

I heard it described as a reverse income tax; payable monthly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87