You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saudi Arabia Sees Gas Prices DOUBLING As Economy Crumbles: A couple of comments.

in #economics7 years ago

Hey thanks for the reply. I was hoping to accomplish two things with my post. The first was to help you guys get more visibility ... I think you both give good commentary and I would like to see it continue (instead of getting screwed by youtube). The second was of course to add my on little spin. While I posted your video, there isn't a reason for people to watch it ... however by going of on the minimum wage "jab", I was hoping that people would actually watch the video to see what John had said.

The fact that increasing the minimum wage in the short run negatively affects small businesses and minimum wage workers - while is critical for those people in the short run - in the long run can lead to better conditions as a whole. As my illustration with farming showed, in the space of 10 years a small farm would go from hiring roughly 10 people for a couple of weeks in the summer to one person. We are on the brink of even eliminating part of that one person

The good thing about "negatively affecting" small business and the working poor is that it adds pressure. The economic conditions that we have now are similar to those during the "Great Depression". It isn't sufficient for governments to fix those conditions ... especially since the people behind the governments don't seem to have the capacity to do so. I think that people like you and John need to continue to be vocal and inspire people and perhaps point toward a path away from the directing centralized powers are taking us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29