You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Low Socioeconomic Status Linked to Premature Mortality

in #economics7 years ago

Interesting topic, and study. I find myself scratching my head a bit, trying to determine exactly "what" we are looking at, here. What I mean is... how to separate causal from non-causal correlations. I'm also not too sure about the metrics... "job title?"

I don't doubt that it is stressful to live in poverty and constantly be worried about whether the gas or electricity will be cut off next month... and stress is definitely an asskicker, health-wise. On the other hand, I am statistically "poor" AND technically speaking "unemployed," yet my alt-independent lifestyle is chosen and doesn't feel like hardship.

Another thought here is also the value of a "safety net" for those who are financially insecure... that varies from country to country; in places like Scandinavia, there's a social system in place to catch you if something bad happens... here in the US (for example) it could mean living in a refrigerator box under an overpass.

Thought provoking content, as always!

Sort:  

Indeed. That's why I added "Someone might have a low socioeconomic status but still maintain a high enough level of health despite such circumstances." I am included in that :P hehe. Maybe I'm not healthy, but having little money isn't the determining factor. Thanks for the feedback as usual :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48