You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Professional Athletes Overpaid? (Part 1)

in #economics8 years ago

Well thought out.
IMO, athletes don't add value to society consistent with their pay. Often, they are actually a detriment since they're idolized by many.
But, I won't argue with the market. Obviously a lot of folks disagree with me. They go to the games and buy branded merchandise. I don't. :)

Sort:  

@anotherjoe But you do have to consider the many athletes who donate and give back to their communities

Not really. I can consider it if I want. But it's not required and not even necessarily the norm. It's a nice social impact, but hardly justifies the wages. If it did, then we should be giving those wages to the organizations that have the greatest positive impact on our communities, rather than athletes.
I won't argue with the market. But I don't buy the "give back a portion of my millions" argument either. Heck, give me a million and I'll see to it that 95% goes back to the community or to help with world hunger and poverty. I'll buy you a ticket to the Super Bowl too!

There you go, that will be the argument in Part 2. :) Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68853.42
ETH 3708.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65