You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ned's Making $700k+ Every Week: Is the Steem Power Interest Rate Too High?

in #economics8 years ago (edited)

The interest rate of Steem Power will never drop to 12%. There is a 100% inflation in the token per year, and 90% goes to SteemPower holder. So there is a bare minimum 90% interest rate a year to SteemPower holder if i'm not mistaken... I explain this in my video: https://steemit.com/inflation/@alexfortin/the-inflation-of-steem-explain-why-is-it-good-for-you

The whales are making a lot of money right now but that is totally fair. They created something useful, invested their money and time ahead of knowing if any of this would be successful. I really don't see a problem with Dan making 700k$/week. It is not a zero sum game where if someone else win, you lose. Actually I wish that Dan makes 10 millions per week so that would means my Steem are worth even more.

The more people use the platform, the more this price of 4$+ will be sustainable and keep climbing. But we just came out of a 10x bubble and beside bitcoin, I never saw a coin doing more than that.

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply, Alex!

By 12%, I mean this number mentioned in the white paper:

Steem by contrast will achieve an instantaneous annual rate of approximately 12% after just 1 year (not including the effects of SMD operations).

Which I talked about here. Are we talking about the same numbers? This stuff gets pretty confusing because there are so many moving pieces involved.

As for the whales making money, I have no fear at all there. I also hope they make $10M a week! But back in reality land, I don't think a new start up can increase the size of the pie that quickly in real terms.

I think we might see a correction in the price if the user base don't grow fast enogh.

This is exactly why I don't think the current interest reward of $700k+ a week supported by the current price makes sense for a social network which has (comparatively) few users right now.

That said, I'm very hopeful for the future, just cautious about my friends jumping into this financially. It could be that this is really cheap STEEM right now and it will rise to challenge Bitcoin as the most useful cryptocurrency around. It also could go back to $0.20 land and be left alone by the pumper/dumper alt-coin fans.

Thanks again for your insight.

As per the whitpaper:

At first glance, 100% annual increase in the STEEM supply may appear to be hyper-inflationary and unsustainable.

Because 90% of all STEEM created is distributed back to holders of SP, the result is similar to having a 2:1 “split” every year rather true inflation. The total rate of expenditures used to reward contributors is about 10% of the market capitalization per year, a rate well below what Bitcoin sustained for the first 7 years after it launched.

As of May 1, 2016, over 98.49% of all STEEM has been converted to SP. This demonstrates that demand to hold long term dominates. In this environment both liquid STEEM and SP are diluted to fund rewards.

We need to differentiate Steem and SteemPower.
Steem on the exchange will increase by 11.51% (12%) a year. That is what he refers as instantaneous rate. But your interest rate on your Steem Power will be close to 90%/year.

It's kind of misleading to use these terms uncritically without understanding all the implications of a rapidly increasing money supply. We should be careful about giving the impression that a 90% return on investment is somehow built into the economics of Steem.

Shhhh.... Shush now... TO THE MOON!!!

Heheheh. :)

Am I missing something?

It can be confusing but it's not badly worded in the white paper as to being misleading. I understood there isn't a 90% return of investment and I think most understood it as well but I agree we should be careful not to give the opposite impression.

Very interesting. Makes me wish I took economics classes in college =(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44