You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planned Obsolescence?

I still have clothes, like by NIKE, that I bought as a teen and I used to wear outside; now I wear them indoors cos I can't bear to get rid of them, seeing as they're still totally intact and functional!

But they cost a lot back then, and the fact that I don't wear them outside says that fashions have changed. Now I can buy t-shirts from Pull&Bear or somesuch that cost 10 euro a piece, and if they get worn out by the time the season ends, who cares, the fashion has probably changed anyway.

Same with computers, as you mention: I have some very old laptops that still work, and my first desktop would probably still work if I had kept it around. But seeing how fast technology moves, isn't it better to make them less lasting and cheaper?

So even though some part of me longs for the days when stuff was robustly made - and you could feel it in their construction, be it furniture or kitchen gadgets or piano keyboards - still, overall, it makes more sense to make them more obsolescent and cheaper to keep up with the pace of technology.

Sort:  

I am not one for keeping up with fashion, though. I prefer clothing I can wear for years. Basic Oxford shits and khakis don't really go out of style. Sure, it's a bit conservative, and I only wear that because it suits my work environment, but I have never really cared for logos and prints on my T-shirts either. I'm about due to buy another batch of various solid-color tees, but most are made from a thinner fabric nowadays. They won't last. And that irks me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47