Aleksa's Book Review: The Commanding Heights

I'm not quite sure as to who recommended this book to me, but it probably wasn't somebody who wanted me to rack my brain trying to understand a complex tome. I appreciate that immensely, as this highly potable and straightforward tome is a solid all-around read for anybody wishing to understand the macro-history and economics of the 20th century from the point of view of a few countries.

The examination of the USA is notably absent (except an examination of the 70s stag-flation and removal of the gold standard) and the book primarily focuses on what most would call backwater economies, such as Portugal, Chile, North India, and Angola. The book does a great work of explaining the economics underlying some of the greatest booms and busts of the century.

Also relevant is the highly detailed biography of Margaret Thatcher and how her certain school of political leadership that I'd imagined to be necessary may end up being counter-productive in the long run. This was meant as a basic course in 20th century economics that would outline the tenets of the Keynesian, Chicago and Austrian schools as well as the applications thereof.

What I got instead was a somewhat thought-provoking read on the nature of history, leadership, implementation of policy, and most importantly patience. The book's name definitely puts into focus how the heights of power can be seductive to those wishing for freedom, and has made me re-evaluate my thoughts about pursuing power.
9/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63