You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you treat public places like a garbage? Are you conscious of your waste?

in #ecology7 years ago

Did you stop to pick the cigarette butts up? With the unbelievable impact of our unconsciousness on the environment, I have come to a compromise about it where I try to lead the best I can by example and beyond what I can do personally I accept without anger most of the time what others do because what tends to make me angry is seeing people do the same kinds of things I do. I used to just walk by other people's trash and condemn them for it. Now I see my choice is either to pick it up myself to solve the problem in front of me or to accept that my decision to walk by it is okay as well. I walk my dogs every night and sometimes pick up trash and put it the trashcans. Other times I just keep walking and think maybe next time.

Sort:  

I always take the time to bend down and pick up someones trash in front of them. I think this is better then just mentioning to them not to litter. About 80% of the time when I am bending down to grab their trash, the will try to jump in front of me to grab it. It is at this time, when I have their full attention, to stress to them the harm of littering....We only have one planet earth.

No I didn't. I have picked up things laying in the street like broken umbrellas in the road, and sometimes a bag blowing by, or some other larger things, but I don't go around picking up all the garbage others have left lying around, and no not nasty cigarette butts either lol.

Everyone ends up paying for the cleaning of the streets through their taxes since people don't want to engage in the self-control to be more responsible. If you accept that you need to pick it up, then everywhere you look there is garbage and you wouldn't get from one place to another in X time, but in 2x time, etc. because of all the trash there is to pick up that you can see. I think we will consider things in our immediate path, and maybe the size as well, but not every piece of litter we see around us. Thanks for the feedback.

Thank you for the reply krnel and I appreciate you sharing what you see here with us!

In order words, never resist what is. What it is what it is - it is. Accept, then act.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77