You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Changing Face of Our Oceans Part 12: The True Terror of the Deep

in #ecology6 years ago

Whale fall. What a term. I guess dead whales have to go somewhere, but I'd never thought of it in quite this way. I guess I imagined they'd float on the surface and be eaten by birds and fish while they pretty much turned to mush and dissolved.

The idea of one feeding an ecosystem at the bottom of the sea for 2 years never crossed my mind. But perhaps the cold temperatures and pressure there help preserve what's useful long enough for it to be disposed of in this way. See why I say I learn something new every time I come here?

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

Longer than two, they actually feed ecosystems for most of a decade! The meat's all gone after two years, but the bones and such continue to feed critters and bacteria. And as always, thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41