You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Escaping to or escaping from…. considering the next stage of my life….

in #eco-villages5 years ago

Good luck in your search. I've thought often of renting a room in exchange for help with yard, but that sounds too much like the rich yard-slave scenario ;) Soon I'll be trying to figure out what/where I'd like to go too.

Sort:  

I know what you mean, living on communal/ non owned land, building and working on that for no gain is fine by me, working to build someone's eco-office which they will then be the sole enjoyer of, no thanks.

I remember on my Permaculture course 10 of us rocking up this detached house in Lewes, a very pricey green town near Brighton and designing the garden for this wealthy couple. I just kept thinking 'fair shares..'?

I think the greatest difficulty of communal living is figuring fair shares. Even when parents share children (what greater shared interest) it's not always a guarantee they'll be able to work a communal living situation for years. Though aren't we supposed to live with others, the best way to grow ourselves~
All the best in finding a great place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88