You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To what extent is the negative media, media biases responsible for depression? - Ecotrain Question of the Week

in #eco-train6 years ago

It's a very difficult world for young people for sure. I know my 16 and almost 20 yo's definitely deal with the existential dread. At this point our direction just seems so uncertain. So many are waking up, but then we have teenage nazis shooting up schools and a very uncertain situation with our planet and a whole lot of grown adults who seem sort of meh about actually doing anything. I really don't wonder that they are flailing. I want to tell them different, but I can't always feel it myself. I think the best we can do is focus on all the people waking up. There are so many, and it could make a big difference. In any case, whether we make a dent in depression or not, at the very least we would have improved the media.

And oh my God I want to be a toucan!!!!!!!

Sort:  

He he, toucan sounds like an awesome option doesn't it? And they don't have toucan shooting season as far as I know, so better longevity than a duck.

We don't have school shootings in Australia, geez we feel for you over here but fail to understand the gun thing at all, I'm sorry.

I like to think the best of our youth rather than focus on the negative. A lot of them will grow up to be amazing human beings that will do what they can to make the world a better place. I see so many wonderful kids that I choose to focus on that rather than the worry. jarrah's just hit 21 and I reckon he's got out of that existential darkness thank god.

Indeed! I'm in Belize, and the toucan is the national bird, so I'm totally protected!
The gun situation in the US is very concerning. Of course some of them are just morons, but there are others who genuinely fear the immense power of the US government. I maintain that there are few other militarys that could take on the US military. Some citizen militia guerilla thing would have basically zero chance. The US government is definitely headed in a dark direction, but I don't think guns are a reasonable way to go about changing that. It has rarely worked out well in the past - at least long term.
Anyway, I absolutely agree about young people. I totally think they are amazing and creating changes long needed. Most of them are very woke. I only understand their despondence when they look at the daunting tasks they are facing and a lot of grown ups who are just not caring. All my teenage children's friends are just delightful and beautiful people. I think my almost 20 yo is almost out of the existential dread, and I am surely glad to see that end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45