December Evergreen Challenge : Re-planting Orchids the Natural Way

in #eco-friendly6 years ago

With what's going on in Steemitland, steem price and the crypto-world...am quite amused to say that my time in the garden is more frequent now specially that it's possible to take my mom out in the terrace, with her watching me pottering around the garden. And with that, things that need doing are more noticeable now compared to before.

First thing were my mom's orchids that one of my sisters attempted to re-plant recycling mom's hospital saline bottles.

20181212_070817.jpg

Leaving them bare inside these bottles with nothing for the roots to hold on, i sort of wrapped the base with dried coconut's webbings from the leaves' stalk then put them back into the bottles.

20181123_095439.jpg

20181123_101039.jpg

20181123_100717.jpg

Although they look neat, I wasn't happy with the results. My mom usually attached her orchids directly to tree trunks and driftwoods so ideally, no plastics should go in between them so that the roots can snake out directly to the tree or wood.

Those bottles needed to go.

Using dried banana stalks to tie the orchids directly to the wood, it seems more natural and organic than the bottles. More eco-friendly I should say.

20181212_070706.jpg

20181212_070725.jpg

I don't mind recycling if that's the best way to utilize plastics or do zero waste, but for orchids, I think the roots are better off if they attach themselves directly to the woods or trees. I was just playing and using what's on hand in the garden, my mom usually tie them with pieces of cloth.

Here you go folks, just another piece for Mother Earth.

ezgif.com-optimize.gif

Thanks to @phoenixwren's December #evergreenchallenge, for anyone who wants to join, you can check her post here.

All images were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

immarojas-3.png
immarojas_new-4.png
My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

Ooh, I actually didn't know how one would plant orchids outside, they look great! Thank you for entering the contest! :D

Welcome! Hope they'll live😂😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @immarojas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.113 which ranks you at #948 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75