My Solar Eclipse Experience in Toronto

in #eclipse7 years ago

Photo of Eclipse Or Not?

I am still visiting Toronto and was out wandering around the city during this afternoon's eclipse. As I was walking down the street, I pointed my iphone over my shoulder in the direction of the sun and snapped a photo. When I first looked at it, the sun looked full and I figured my photo attempt was a failure. When I looked at the photo later I could see what I think is a reflection of the eclipse slightly down and to the right of the full sun. Looks like a partial eclipse somehow showing up as a glare off my phone lens. What do you think?

IMG_4932.JPG

Sort:  

Yes the same was happening to people trying to take shots here, it was partially eclipsed when you took the photo but had to see with the flare, one person had glasses and was looking through them but shooting just with the camera, I told him to put the glass lens over the camera lens and take a shot and you could then see the eclipse in the photo

Very cool artifact. Welding goggles here in Newfoundland gave us a great peek at it :)

I am on vacation so packing welding goggles didn't cross my mind. I was surprised my random over the shoulder shot got the sun at all!

Haha Well, I am always sure to pack my welding gear when I vacation. You never know when you might need to lay down a bead on some black iron somewhere ;) hahaha

Cheers my friend,
buckydurddle

👍👍👍

I used welding glasses.
And right over my camera lens too, got some awesome shots!
Thats cool how you can see that little eclipse beside the 'big ball of light'

Yeah, it was a nice surprise!

Haha, you can see the same thing in part of the video I posted here, taken on my boyfriend's iPhone: https://steemit.com/eclipse/@therovingreader/eclipsed-fulfilling-my-dream-of-totality-story-video. He kept referring to it as the "tiny version", even though it was still nowhere near as sharp was what we could see through the glasses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63