In Little Egypt for the Solar Eclipse

in #eclipse7 years ago

01_0.jpg

I was fortunate enough to have the privilege of being able to view the upcoming 2017 total solar eclipse here in Southern Illinois, nicknamed, Little Egypt, the sweet spot zone where the duration will be longest, not to mention the literal crossroads location of the coming eclipse of 2024.

crossroads.png

eclipse-white-tm.png

This is going to be a remarkable celestial event in and of itself. Offical NASA scientists are coming to the area, (probably here by now, actually) and the town of Carbondale, IL and surrounding towns are thrust in to an eclipse event frenzy. And I'm going to be....currently am right in the middle of it.

Of course there is a bit of internet controversy over the whole ordeal. Conspiracy theory's float around about how this event will trigger civil unrest as the moon literally divides the country in two. Christian theologians point to the coincidence that the two solar events take place 7 years apart so this might be God's own signature way of telling us this is the seven years of tribulation prophecied in the Bible. Others might think the Galactic Federation of Light will make itself known to us and maybe take some of us away during the event. And I don't even want to know what the flat earthers think of all this.

Should I be scared?

KIMG0418.JPG

I have accomodations in a cabin southeast of town pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It's technically in Makanda and is virtually right on the line known as, the path of totality, in the perfect spot of viewing.

The main area of Makanda is actually the super sweet spot all the insiders are planning to be, even the NASA people. I was there the other day and it was slightly bustling....for Makanda, at least. Its a town of approxomately 600 people.

KIMG0437.JPG

It's quite a unique community of artist hippy type country folks, with a bit of the airy fairy about them. Very nice people and a magical little place, with a merchants row of art shops.

KIMG0438.JPG

KIMG0440.JPG

In the back of the main strip, I guess you can say, is an elaborate art garden built from reused materials and partial remains of former structures and some vegetation. It's kind of a trip.

KIMG0441.JPG

KIMG0447.JPG

KIMG0451.JPG

But I'm getting a bit off topic. The News has already covered Makanda on it's unique position for both eclipses.

  • CBS News

There's a lot going on just in Carbondale, Home of Southern Illinois University. ( I actually went to school here many years ago, so I know Carbondale)

There's a fest going on where they zoned a perimeter of city blocks around downtown that is currently an openly free drinking zone.

KIMG0598.JPG

There is Eclipse Comicon going on at the SIUC Student Center, actually, I think it just wrapped up.

KIMG0607.JPG

...Wait...How did Ernie get in there? Oh, well

KIMG0599.JPG

This Lady said her kids asked for a dog, so she gave them a droid instead.

KIMG0559.JPG

This Guy was mad at me for taking pictures. I just wanted to get a shot of Boba Fett, Jeez, calm down down, buddy.

I am currently writing this post in the International Student Lounge in the SIUC Student Center. It was one of my favorite places on campus when I was a student back in.....the day.

KIMG0457.JPG

An interesting factoid, is that directly two floors below me is a little hallway where there is a museum exhibit about how Southern Illinois came to be known as Little Egypt.

KIMG0619.JPG

I'll do a follow up all about Little Egypt on my next post, and following that I'm going to post about my travels about the region. I hit up many National Parks and other cool stuff, definitely will get it all out before the eclipse. I'll follow up on that just to let you know if I survive.

But for now, I need to roll, if I want to get anything to eat in this town tonight.

KIMG0589.JPG

Around Noon, it was still pretty tame out there. By now it could be absolutely insane. There are massive expectations of a huge migration to the area that could get out of control. I'll let you know how it turns out.

P. S. I'm on a much needed vacation, but I had to take note of this fellow who was doing the job I'd be doing normally, if I were working this event.

KIMG0593.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45