STEEM Cycle Update: Kickstand and Relay Installed

in #ebikes7 years ago

Finally got the kickstand installed! It was a bitch, too. I bought a pair of M8 bolts, 1.25mm from Home Depot only for both of them to be too short. I underestimated the thickness of the kickstand mounting bracket. So I bought another two of the longest two lengths in stock. Only the absolute longest was sufficient, and then only barely.

Boy is it nice to have a kickstand, however. Now I don't always have to be on the lookout for something to lean this big, heavy beast up against when I want to stop somewhere. It conflicts very slightly with the left pedal at one point in its rotation but does not prevent full rotation from taking place, there's just a moment of plastic brushing on plastic.

I've also got the relay passthru installed. This is the high current switch that allows me to use a low current ignition dealie to connect or disconnect the battery pack from the motor controller. Of course there's nothing to actually "ignite", so ignition switch sounds funny, but the gist is that it will soon only be possible to use if you have the right key.

[Imgur](

here is the illuminated two position clicky button dealie it came with. Shame I won't be using this, but it does nothing to secure my bike. I might reuse it elsewhere, like as a disconnect between the charger and the battery so I can safely use an advanced charger.

I can't leave one permanently connected as they're a parasitic load (the simple one it came with isn't) but the button could fix that, and with an advanced charger onboard I could do stuff like fast charge, or charge only to 80% each time (which prolongs the lifespan of the battery).

Anyways that's all for now. The next step is to connect the relay to the ignition switch. It seems like there' always, always, always more left to do on this fuckin' thing. But it's fun now that the bike is usable, like an ongoing hobby project.

Sort:  

Woooow the bike looks even better now :D

@alexbeyman

Haha some things take ages to complete :D So far so good !

Nice work. Keep going and show us the final results.

I see what you mean about having the older models of the bike, Does it weigh a lot more than the new ones? Yours actually looks like a bmx bike, I was going to get one untill you told me the price. I actually looked at building one with my dad a long time ago. Anyways thanks for the post.

It's like a bike from Mad Max, if Mad Max were set in Brooklyn hahaha. Very cool.

Man, I never get tired of seeing this thing. It's been rad seeing your progress on it too and how far you've come in getting it ready to go! Hopefully the relay for the switch isn't too much of a pain in the ass for you, lol.

The bike looks great! I love tinkering with everything electronic, so this really interested me. A simple tac weld of the kickstand to the bike would have done great; as long as you would not be to rough on it.

Keep up the good work! Im excited to see your future posts.

The more modifications your bike master @alexbeyman

Illuminati confirmed! well, it's asymptotically getting completed.

@alexbeyman,
Wow dude that's great! I will try this out! Thanks for sharing this great experience and hope to see more modifications too!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34