STEEM Cycle Update: Back From the Dead!

in #ebikes7 years ago

The special charger arrived in the mail today. Just like I was promised, it somehow rebooted the battery pack's BMS and was able to charge it. After charging for about an hour and a half I took it for a test ride.

It worked beautifully, except the chain. Evidently I really do need a derailleur, as the chain slipped and got all fucking tangled up in the gears. No damage done but until I find and purchase the right derailleur, I've decided to just leave the chain off.

Let's be real, I was never going to pedal much and it only has to look like everything is where it needs to be to qualify as a bicycle from a distance. I can even madly pretend to pedal while in motion if I think there's any need to create that appearance.

The mud guards for either side of the fork have been spray painted black and given a coating of sealant to keep them that color. I've properly mounted the headlight as well, with a type of foam strip that is designed for the purpose.

I've named the bike Das Wampyr. "The Vampire". Because it has returned from the dead, and because it is quiet and cold but also fast and strong. Bikes are like ships, they need names according to the rule I just made up.

Because of where I mounted the charging socket, the interior part conflicts with the frame slightly. This forces the side panel it's part of down a little bit, creating an irritatingly wide panel gap. It still presses against the rubber strip so it'll keep rain out, it's just unsightly.

I could do it over if I bought a replacement side panel but I really don't care that much. It will just irritate me slightly until I die, that's all. I at least got ahold of more red bolts to replace the ones I lost, so the panels are all fully secured.

Still really weird there's no chain, though. It doesn't feel right. I am not content to leave it this way. It's in good enough shape I can ride it just fine but I'm going to seek out the parts I need to mount the chain properly, just to have it on there.

Anyway that's all for now. Definitely in the home stretch, it's all just spit and polish at this point. I do have one more big surprise I have yet to add though, so stay tuned for that. :)

Sort:  

Is there a way to make it a single speed to keep appearances on the chain? Or would that mess the whole thing up?

I dunno, but that's a good idea. I'll look into it.

It looks unusual just like all vampires do 😄

I wouldn't know, I've never met any.

How do you know you've never met any? Do you check people for fangs?😄

You do! I hope this bike is a pretty fast one then :)

thank for that nice share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56