eBay Point Of Difference - How To Stand Out From The Crowd

in #ebay8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers

So you have finished cleaning out the closet and the basement of all your excess junk, and might have made a few bucks already on eBay

Now your wanting to take it to the next step, and you are looking around at potential product sources, and you are developing an idea of what to sell on a more consistent basis.

I want to try and save you a few dollars, some time and some heartaches by pointing out what I think is a glaringly obvious fact.

enter image description here
If you are going to succeed on eBay, you need to stand out from the crowd.

You need a distinct point of difference.

Now, in the eBay world there are three main points you need to consider to stand out from the crowd and snag those sales.

1. Price
enter image description here
If you are going to sell the exact same thing that someone else is also selling, the most obvious way you can guarantee sales is by having the best damn price around. By being the cheapest it puts you at the top of the list when the shopper sorts the search results by "price". Don't forget to calculate you and your competitors shipping costs as well, the savvy eBay shopper does as well.

2. Location
enter image description here

Its hard to compete with all of those sellers based in China who seem to sell items below cost, or once shipping is factored in you are priced out of the market. How do you beat these guys you ask? I have had much success by utilising my location and speed of delivery to win over local buyers. Highlight the fact that you are based in your country, that you will ship within 2 business days, and that your potential customer will get their items from you long before the seller from China has even wrapped and sent theirs. Do not underestimate what advantage speed of delivery has and that your customer will pay for the privilege of getting their items quick.

3. Rarity + Desirability
enter image description here
This is an easy one. If what you are selling is desirable and rare, then you have a home run. Note that I put the word desirable in bold text. There are a million rare items out there, but they are still worthless if no one actually wants one. Don't be fooled into buying an item for resale just because the seller says its rare. Maybe it is rare, but if its too obscure and no one has interest in it...then you will struggle to find a buyer and that is not where you want to be.

So there you have it - three golden rules to base your stock sourcing on. My goal with my eBay business was to break free from the 9 to 5 - not to give myself an 80 hour a week career. Be smart about your business, and always have an idea of what you are earning for every hour of your labour.

enter image description hereMy name is Ron and I have been an eBay seller for over 12 years, and I'm just here to share what I have learned over that time. Hope you got something valuable out of my post, even if you didn't, post a comment...I'm always up for a healthy debate!

Image credits - pixabay.com (except for that awesome selfie above)
#entrepreneurship

Sort:  

Always set your price on buy it now with a best offer. This will get you the price that you actually want (of course you need to research the market first). I've gotten hammered selling stuff in auction format that ended up selling for super cheap. Auctions = good for buyers, bad for sellers, unless you need to sell something quickly.

Yep 95% agree with you..although there some times where an auction has worked in my favour. I'm in the process of finishing off a whole series of eBay posts, I'd love your input on them when I publish them!

Would be happy to help! I have a love/hate relationship with eBay but I've been on there for a long time. There are just way more people even though Amazon and Swappa have much lower fees I can never sell anything on those sites. eBay just has so many more users willing to buy used items.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54