eBay Pics Tell A Thousand Words - 2 Ways To Increase Your Auction Sales

in #ebay8 years ago

Hey Steemers

Everyday on my eBay adventures, I never cease to be amazed at the total lack of professionalism some people manage to put into their eBay listings.

I mean, if you are trying to sell something, wouldn't you try and present that thing in the best possible way? Would you try to sell your car without giving it a wash and a vacuum first would you?
enter image description here

Well it seems a lot of people struggle with this concept...here are some great examples of what not to do!

enter image description hereWhat the hell is this bunch of rags?
enter image description here
Probs should have cleaned the TV first...and turned it on?
enter image description hereI'm sure a XBOX360 has a sexier angle than that!

This is a quick guide on how to present your items well. You wouldn't walk into a department store and pick out the dirtiest, filthiest item you could find, no you, and everyone else, want the most shiny, brand new mint condition item you can buy for your hard earned money right?

Simple rules to follow here Steemers...I have never used a high end camera for my listings...in fact I use my phone. Get the lighting right (easy tips how below) and an average camera can still take great photos!

Number of Photos

These days, eBay will host up to 12 images for you for free, that's sooo much better than years ago, where you only got two photos and had to pay for each extra one!
Use this to your advantage, take the 12 photos! So many sellers will just take one or two photos like they couldn't be bothered. This hurts sales believe me.
You might not need the whole 12 photos depending on what you are selling, but make sure you cover all angles of your item. Pretend that the shopper has the item in their hand and they are turning it over and looking at it from all sides. That's how your photos should present.

Lighting
I am no great photographer. There are hundreds of great photographers here on Steemit and they all know a hell of aa lot more about taking great stills than I do.

But here is a cheap idea to get your eBay pics looking their best!

In the early days when I first started, I simply used 2 x LED lamps set at an angle to get increased lighting. But there was still glare and often produced a reflection from the item.

So I had to diffuse the light. Now I could write out a whole explanation on how you could make a light box but hey....watch this video instead its much faster.

So there are two key concepts you must utilize in order to make more sales on eBay..lots of photos....and make em good ones!

enter image description hereMy name is Ron and I have been an eBay seller for over 12 years, and I'm just here to share what I have learned over that time. Hope you got something valuable out of my post, even if you didn't, post a comment...I'm always up for a healthy debate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63086.21
ETH 3455.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50