Start of Gmarket Success - Muffler Jackpot?

in #ebay6 years ago


2003 G market logo

I started talking about Gmarket, connected to Facebook, and a lot of people came in. It is a start, but I will try to do my best.

I have talked about interviewing in the past, but it is important for me personally that I joined the company, but others are not going to be interesting. So let's talk about the situation of G market at the time.

Guskad (www.goodsdaq.com), the predecessor of Gmarket, began as an alias "Internet commodity exchange" that sells and sells goods through the Internet like stocks. Interpark established the goodsdaq.com, which introduced the stock trading system of the stock exchange for commodity trading, and started the service in May, 2000.

(See article)

http://news.naver.com/main/read.nhn?mode=LSD&mid=shm&sid1=101&oid=015&aid=0000206071

The story about the system will be rearranged at a later date, but in a nutshell it is a kind of purchasing system.

It adopts the stock trading system of the stock exchange as it is, sells a certain commodity, accepts quotation and quantity from buyers, and concludes the transaction according to the price time quantity priority.

In fact, I used the terms "lion order", "sell order" and "conclusion" within the company. It is a system that is concluded if the amount of the person who buys and sells the amount of the seller is right, not the fixed amount of the commodity, but the stock is bought and sold.


(See article)

http://news.naver.com/main/read.nhn?mode=LSD&mid=shm&sid1=101&oid=008&aid=0000059608

The company, which started as Interpark's in-house team, was indeed a listening site until early 2003. At E-commerce at that time, Interpark of Internet shopping mall and Auction place of Emacket place were two axis. When I joined the company, I joined the company. When did you join? At that time, I was just joining.

Anyway, the company that started in 2000 has gone through a lot of things since its launch. I heard a lot of stories from Director Y who made the site from scratch. The conclusion was hard to ignore!

I did not have a lot of web developers, but when I was working with my colleagues, I was hearing traffic problems and suffering because the site was down and the order failed. I did not experience it myself, so I just heard it as a legend.

Since 2003, sales have gradually increased, and we have received a small amount of investment and received support from the parent company. Then, in October 2003, the existing Gaussian car will be changed to the current G market.

(See article)

http://news.naver.com/main/read.nhn?mode=LSD&mid=shm&sid1=105&oid=031&aid=0000030544

When entering the market with the Qasdaq, the company entered the market with B2C's business model. This model is an auction model focused on corporate buyers and is a model in which market participants are strictly classified as sellers and buyers. In addition, the company has adhered to a mixed auction model with certain qualifications for the auctioneer.

(See article)

http://news.naver.com/main/read.nhn?mode=LSD&mid=shm&sid1=105&oid=030&aid=0000034778

In 2004, the Nasdaq will resume its C2C form of G-Market, which will reduce costs and time. Of course it was not C2C like Auction. Unlike the auction at the time, it was customer service as a private business. It is to provide a place for individual businesses to sell their goods. Also known as e-marketplace. It is an open market that is often said. I will try to summarize this part later. (Please enjoy history of open market)

As Gmarket began to be known to some extent, people around me asked me. Why is not A Market, not B Market, G Market? CI, naming things that are goods, great, global, but I was a little funny.

It was one of ten questions in company. The domain name is Gag, and the president is Mr. G, and everything was there.


The G-Market mission in 2005 site

(See article)

When I looked at the article, there was such a story from the beginning.

http://news.naver.com/main/read.nhn?mode=LSD&mid=shm&sid1=105&oid=030&aid=0000045996

Anyway, in December 2003, it will be officially opened as G market site in January, 2004. Later, the mission will be changed to Interpark G Market.

In the history of Gmarket at the end of 2003, something much bigger than a change of mission occurs. It is a B company muffler.

You know what? B muffler

G market was a joint purchase service. It is a way to buy a horse by setting the number of products by just collecting the seller. By the way, there was this muffler in the joint purchase.

I did not know at the time of my introduction, but rumors about B muffler spread rapidly in the center of Internet cafes at the time. I did not remember how much the original price was, but the price of this muffler registered in the G market was 30,000 won. Anyway, it is very cheap, and the story of damage is spreading enormously.

Site traffic has skyrocketed and a lot of people started signing up. Especially women have joined in enormously to buy this thing. The customer center team was very hard at the time because we could not afford the quantity. It was great enough to cause controversy.

In the beginning of 2003, the site, which had fewer than a few thousand daily orders, renewed its records each day. Later, I will revisit the HR and incentives in the G market, but there was a system called incentives in the G market. If the number of cases per day exceeds 1,000, 100,000 won will be given to all employees unconditionally. For example, I had 3,000 yesterday, but today I pay 100,000 won for 4,000 monthly salary. (Of course I pay taxes.)

There were people who stayed until 12 o'clock every day. Marketing departments and team leaders who can see orders in the back office system, and people in the IT department see what goes over them. There were times when I was left intentionally.

The number of employees exceeded 8,000 on December 22, when I joined the company, and exceeded 10,000 in 2003. At the conclusion, I did not get over it, but at the year-end party I attended, the saga was great. There were also days when I traveled to China for the success of the muffler, running around Dongdaemun at dawn to attract the sellers. MD, CA and other sales representatives will be discussed later.

Anyway, at the end of 2003, Muffler informed the world of the site called Gmarket, and personally started to challenge as a developer. Next time I will talk about the auction service which is the C2C service that I opened and maintained since I joined G market service.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45