Earthquakes which I have felt strong shockwaves from - one was last week!

in #earthquake8 years ago (edited)

Hello
In my time I have been where we have felt the earth shake after an earthquake hit some distance away a number of times.
One very memoral one was in about 1995 in Wagga Wagga the south-west of New South Wales, Australia.
It was in the early hours of the morning, and I was woken thinking I could hear a heavy truck thundering towards the house, then it sounded as if the truck hit the house. I looked out of my window, and there was nothing outside!
The earthquake had a magnitute of 3.8 and a depth of 6.0 km.

Last week we felt an earthquake in Townsville, North Queensland, Australia.

I was sitting at my computer which is on a big heavy desk, which quite laden with office needs. There was a slight noise, and the desk rocked. After the desk rocked, there was a strong single gust of wind which came through the door. I just thought, "That was strange!". Apparently there were quite a few shocks from the area of the epicentre, last week.
The epicentre was out in the ocean, south-east of the city. It's shocks were felt in a wide area, shown in the picture.
The earthquake had a magnitude of 5.7 and a depth of 7km.
http://earthquaketrack.com/p/australia/queensland/recent
There was no threat of a tsunami, although holidaymakers were evacuated from high-rise appartments.
Read about it, here
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3746460/Earthquake-measuring-magnitude-5-8-detected-near-Bowen-North-Queensland.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45