You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mundane, Medicinal and Magical Primrose

in #earthnation6 years ago

I now know much more than I ever thought I would about Primrose, what a versatile and helpful flower!

I know next to nothing about herbal medicine or gardening, so my now quite obviously uninformed notion would be that flowers this beautiful would be less likely to be so helpful and have such varied uses.

All the more reason to be grateful for Steem so that I can read blogs like your own and learn so much I would likely have never known otherwise!

There's too many to share, but I want to list just a few of my favorite takeaways from your article, @skycae, if just so you know how much I appreciate the time, research, formatting and effort that obviously went into such a great post:

This is so cool!!

"The Latin genus for primroses, primula, comes from the Latin primus meaning first, because they are the first flowers to appear in spring."

noted.

Primarily primrose seems effective for insomnia and anxiety, restlessness and hysteria due to its slightly sedative (and anti spasmodic) effect meaning that it calms you down and can put you to sleep, even just in tea form.

And so many references to many of my favorite figures in mythology, spanning across mythos even! That's when you know it's powerful.

This was such a great read, thank you for the share, @skycae!

z_thank_you.png

Sort:  

Oh man its great to have such lovely comments from people such as yourself! I too often underestimate the usefulness of beautiful flowers, I would be just as happy for them to exist only to be beautiful, but it sure is a pleasant suprise to learn they are multi functional haha.

I am very glad you found my effortful post useful and helpful! I do hope you are inspired a little more about the plants we rely on for beauty and food too, our dear angiosperms.

They have been in our histories since before history began! Thus they are often featured in myth!
I love mythology, and plants, like a lot haha. What are your favourite mythological characters?

Thank you for stopping by! Hope to see you around more so!

It's funny, I feel the same way about flowers; they are just such striking pieces of art that the world paints and we have the fortune to enjoy. We try to capture them in pictures and paints, but they always are there, mother earth is so gracious with her art.

I'd say my favorite myths trend towards the tragic, the Prometheus and Sisyphuses of the world - a penchant for GrecoRoman, but I'm Northern European by heritage, so I've spent a good bit of time dabbling in the past mythology of my Danish family, the old Norse gods.

Those stories are a bit all over the place, but that's what is so charming about them. and they birthed many tragic tales, the Fairy Tales Grimm, hard winters and harder people.

Thank you for writing, I'm sure I'll leave a message or two again soon ^_^

Ahhh yes, I like the tradegy, but also the comedy. I studied the ancient Irish Tuatha De Danaan in great detail, and still am. I also do like asian lore and greek stuff, the roman stuff not so much but a little bit haha. My favorite figures are Brigid of the Tuatha, Dionysus the joy of men and Kuan Yin goddess of compassion :) I am going to start a mythology curation page eventually, but probably not until next winter when I have time.

Wow Carm, you really went all out on this comment. I love the comment very much. Upvoted. Hugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34