Earth Hour 2019

in #earthhour6 years ago

Hey, Steem frens! It's Earth Hour tonight, and I know some of you have already passed the time, but for me it's about eight hours away. It's tonight (30 March) at 20:30 your local time.

https://www.earthhour.org/

What is Earth Hour?

Earth Hour started in 2007 as a symbolic lights out - one hour where you turn off all your lights! It's just a little blip in decreased energy, but it also can help cut light pollution, and has inspired further action for the environment!

Light pollution

Do you know I have only really seen a true night sky once ever in my life? I'm 40 years old. I was literally awestruck by it. Not internet hyperbole "awesome," my breath was taken away. I had never seen the Milky Way, or a sky full of stars, on anything other than an image on TV or in National Geographic, before that night. And I haven't since. I was in college at the time, so it was around twenty years ago.

Light pollution is when the lights from the city make your eyes blind to the stars above. That glow that you see when looking at images of Earth at night from the perspective of space means that all the people who live there can't see the other way around. On a clear night, I can count all the stars visible in the Denver night sky on both my hands. I can see maybe the big dipper, and Orion's belt, and a planet or two - that's it.

So please join in and turn off your lights for one hour tonight! :)

Be good, y'all! <3

My Zazzle Shop:

My Ko-fi:
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Sort:  

I have only really seen a true night sky once ever in my life? I'm 40 years old. I was literally awestruck by it.

I had a similar reaction/experience as a teen in New York City during a 'Blackout' that occurred; displaying a night sky that we're 'supposed' to be able to see and enjoy.

You should go to Tucson Az, get out in the desert at night
You will be astounded. Things have grown up a lot since
I was there '75-'82, so you might have to go a bit
Further out, but "Light Pollution" is a big deal there,
Since there are several MAJOR observatories in the
Vicinity.
Upvoted and resteemed @phoenixwren.

Unfortunately, poverty means: no money to travel, no car to get outside of the city. Which is why I've only seen the night sky once. It was in eastern Colorado, in-between my college town (Fort Collins) and Sterling, a little town out on the plains. It was beautiful. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64