Nevada Underground Rammed Earth Home

in #earthenhome6 years ago


This owner built rammed earth home was built 20 years ago using mostly locally obtained materials at a total cost of approximately $35,000. It took 3 years to build and was a pay as you go project. No loans, no building permits, and it was constructed after work and on weekends.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I couldn't get it to play. :( First time I have ever heard of that method.
http://www.yourhome.gov.au/materials/rammed-earth

Try this link:

I will try to create more detailed content with a better explanation of this method of owner-built construction. This one was done as a little intro for the benefit of curious friends. Thanks for your interest.

That worked! :) I think I liked the planter wall the most. 1 or two sky lights overhead would have been nice but still a cool house. The interior walls also looked great. It's unfortunate we don't have more environmentally house designs and people don't care about it too much. My house is pretty much a regular house but it's 80 outside and about 70 inside with no AC usage. :) If I lived in the basement I would probably never need AC but I do like living above ground.
Thanks for posting the Youtube video. The Dtube video still doesn't work.
I'd upvote your reply but since you don't self upvote it wouldn't count because of the .02 payout threshold.

Congratulations @flynnjohnson! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @flynnjohnson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17