Earth Deeds: Why so much packaging? Reducing It - Here's How...

in #earthdeeds6 years ago

It always blows my mind the amount of packaging some products use and how some products fool you with their packaging to make you think you are getting more than you really are (it's all stuffed with air or boxes within boxes).

packaged vegetables is it necessary.jpg

Personally I like to buy directly from the producer if possible. I will bring my own containers and ask if I can buy something in bulk (another way to cut down on the amount of packaging), often they are very happy to do that for you.

I belong to a co-op where I can buy a lot of my whole food stuff in bulk and most of them are from local producers.

Check around, you may be able to find farmers or co-ops that have local food and some which may even deliver right to your door. They deliver boxes of what the farmers have in-season.

Using Re-usable Glass Jars

full pantry.JPG

Mason jars are my best friend for they can be used over and over again - save on using those plastic throw away jars and jugs.

These simple Earth Deeds are simple to do. They will help the earth and also help you save too.

Check out the #EarthDeeds and the contest by @elemental at: https://steemit.com/earthdeeds/@elamental/earth-deeds-volume-4-contest-entry-article-win-an-up-vote-from-tribesteemup
See more Earth conscious posts and enter to win an upvote from @tribesteemup
Up-vote which is currently worth about $7-$8 USD

Thanks for stopping by!
I love engaging with folks here so please feel free to leave any comments or questions,
if you found this post beneficial an Upvote is appreciated.

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here on steemit at @porters

Sort:  

No... it’s crazy

Posted using Partiko iOS

Agreed it is so crazy and filling up our landfills!

i Could not aggree with you more. It always baffles me on how people think there earth warriors for not getting a bag at grocery store, which yes i love the idea, and i be leave we should cut back as much as possible. But whenever i look behind me at the whole store, all i see is garbage! Thanks for sharing this

You're welcome! Hope it wakes up a few people to realize there are ways around buying all that packaged stuff!

Nice one @Porters. I also love mason jars, and use them for more things than I can count. Buying from producers and exchanging jars is a great way to avert supporting companies that use excessive packaging. Bless up.

Our apologies for missing the re-steem time on this one. We got the other one fore sure. Thank you & blessings.

Apologies accepted - that's the good thing about having two posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24