Earth Deeds - Cutting Down on Plastic Bag Use

in #earthdeeds6 years ago

Plastic bags although considered convenient are a major waste and pollutant to the Earth. They take years to break down and add toxins to the soil and water plus fill up our landfills and endanger animals and birds who may ingest them or get tangled up in them.

Let me show you an alternative that is just as convenient and can cut out the use of the plastic shopping bags, keeping them from polluting the earth and endangering the creatures on it.

Reusable Nylon Shopping Bags that fold into tiny pouches

reusable nylon shopping bags.JPG
These easily fit into your purse, glove compartment of car or some have little loops to clip onto your belt loops. The smaller ones you can fit into your pocket.
I keep them handy in my purse so I'm not adding to the pollution by using plastic shopping bags.
Photo is my original

Sort:  

In the UK they changed the law so that nowhere could give them out for free, we now have to pay for them, in an attempt to try and encourage people to reuse them.

It seemed like a good idea. But now most households, my self included, have WAAAAYYYY more plastic bags than before , that is certainly the case in my house anyway, when we realised how many we had accumulated, a good few hundred, we really had to take a step back and just be much more proactive with remembering to always carry some.

We've got supplies in both of our cars now.

It sounds silly, why don't people just re-sue them? Peoples lives are so busy and they are rushing around all the time it is easy to forget, you also have to have planned shopping trips, which most of us are not that organised for.

With the change in legislation i don't think it's made any difference at all, only made businesses richer and people have more plastic bags in their homes than ever before- maybe the same amount of bags but much thicker plastic now. When they were free you would get really thin measly bags, now people have to pay for them those have disappeared, and you can only buy thicker plastic bags, which is literal insanity!

That is insanity - making for heavier plastic bags that will do even more damage! I wonder about the law makers how tuned in to the real effects of their legislation they are. I really like these little nylon bags that fit so nice into my purse - let's me cut down on my plastic back use more than if I just have the bags in the car for I forget to take them in with me but I won't forget my purse!

nylon breaks down into microfibers for the water as well, for sure it is a step in the right direction. How about biodegradable hemp or algae bags for the long haul vision?

I'm not familiar with the algae material. Is it light and easy to fold into these little pouches? The idea is that you use the bag over and over again so it has to be tough material too.

Yes! To fazing out plastic @porters! Because our farm internet is so slow as your post was opening the top quarter of the photo showing looked like panties! I was wondering how THAT would be a solution!!!

Too funny! It's not panties but nylon bags that fold into little pouches that you can easily fit into your purse. How are things on the farm?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87