You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Challenge] I'm Up to Riding the Winds of Change...

in #earthdeeds5 years ago (edited)

I can't remember the last time I've bought paper towels. I've been using organic cotton rags for so long now. Once you make the switch, you totally don't miss it. All of our food scraps go to the chickens or compost. Our junk mail, cardboard, toilet paper inner rolls, and anything of the sorts go under the woodchips in garden pathways (basically turning them into worm food), we use bamboo toothrbrushes, luffa for bathing which we grow and then compost when we are done using, we bring reuseable bags but if we forget them we get brown paper bags at the grocery if we forget our re-useable bags and then we use the paper bags as sheet mulch in the garden. The area I need to improve on is bringing my own glass jars to put my bulk items in. We bring canteens with us wherever we go (no plastic bottled water). We also replaced our shower curtain from vinyl to organic cotton that can be washed instead of replaced when it gets yucky. So many options for people to find ways to reduce waste....and every single step is a step in the right direction. Thank you for posting this and for taking a step to reduce waste. :) Upvoted and resteeming.

Sort:  

Love all your ideas for reducing your waste - it's an inspiration and I've got some new ideas to try too - thanks for sharing!

Awesome! I'm glad I was able to help inspire! :) It's awesome that you are making changes and doing what you can! So happy to hear it.

Upvoted for goodness ;>)

I still have a lot of areas to improve on ( especially with the waste management ), but I've got a wooden tootbrush, always bring my own bags, bring my own canteen along for drinking water when I'm not at home, ask for a glass of water instead of buying a bottle when I eat out and there's probably some more things I'm forgetting about.

I also started to not throw away things that I usually would throw out easily, telling myself that my niece and nephew might play with it when they come over.

I like the paper as worm food thing. I will definitely think about a way to do so, although I don't have a garden.

P.S. @porters This comment on a comment could also be a comment on your post. Love how you're being aware and spreading awareness.

P.P.S. we only recently got a big container out here, in the village, to recycle glass, plastics and paper. The year before that, I had to throw everything in one bag / container and I felt pretty bad about that. Nevertheless, the step from this kind of recycling to reusing and creating even less waste is awesome and something more people should think about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47