Earth Deeds: 1UP Writing- How I Am Helping Others & Communities

in #earthdeeds6 years ago

With no intention of being this late on writing my post (I do apologize to @elamental for this)... let's see how I have been connected to family, the Earth, communities and making my immediate world a better place.


herbs.jpg

Wanting to become more self-sufficient, self sustainable and self-reliant are a main focus when I started my gardening passion. Being able to provide organic produce for my homestead is one attempt I started to beginning this way of life. I do not like driving, I do not like crowds of people, loud areas and by being able to grow, harvest and preserve my bounty I am able to successfully accomplish avoiding these three I don't like to... things in life


wwq.jpg

I am constantly looking for new ways to make my own home remedies, herbal & medical treatments as well as being able to provide chemical-free health and beauty products.



calendula.jpg

When I am online; whether steemit, Discord, Weku, Whaleshares or SMOKE.IO,I am ALL about community, support and growth. I belong to many Discord groups, communities and am constantly looking for ways to help others. I write one to three daily newsletters (for @qurator), keep the Waves' Coins' Global stats for @ghscollective and am always reading posts of various topics. I try to connect with as many people online as humanly possible as I do not have an outside-the-homestead group of friends.

I did connect last week with a local church volunteer group about possibly starting a community garden and sharing some of my homestead/DIY skills with church members and congregation; so I view this as a step in the right direction of helping others locally.



bee.jpg

Enjoying nature and the outdoors is something I have come to appreciate even more over the last two tears. Being able to provide these sunflowers, as well as many other pollinators I have in my flower and herb garden, to the bees that are here is something I know everyone is benefiting from. I love growing sunflowers for two reasons; to provide a nice autumn snack for the chipmunks, birds and squirrels that live in the woods behind our house and to have a beautiful signal (flower) for the bees to gather up pollen and spread their joy around my neighborhood and area.

I may not be one of the best people who has completely removed a carbon footprint in the world, but I am working on little things that can help contribute to this greener world. I know there are people who walk or ride bicycles instead of driving a car. I know there are people who only live off the land, unfortunately I can admit I am not that person. But when I forage for flowers, greens and other forest edibles, I only take what I need. I leave the majority for others and for the reproduction of the indigenous and even invasive species pf plants, flowers and all the medicinal uses Mother Earth has to offer us.

Contest information

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I'm always amazed by your garden and your hard work to be everywhere in this platform, really glad I have known you here.

As parasitic organisms we humans may never be 100% sustainable but all we can do is try to continually improve. You are making some amazing improvements, thank you!

That is very true and every little thing we do in the right direction will help.

Not exactly on topic but where did you get those plant markers?

Posted using Partiko Android

I made them out of Dollar Store sticker decals, paint stir sticks and some clear contact paper to protect the stickers from getting wet. A dozen cost me about 25/cents to make.

I think they are cute also! great job!

yeah growing your own herbs and foraging and providing food for the bees, we really can not survive without the bees, great entry @goldendawne xx

Thank you- I don't really like bees.. but I do have a great respect for them.


You have been elected by the @steemrepair and upvoted with the trail for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

Lovely post! I love how you talk about taking only what you need and that deep and growing connection and appreciation for nature. I truly relate to you on that. Good for you about the community gardens - that is a big social step - something I struggle with out here! You are an inspiring person!

What you are doing is great. We all can’t do things at large scale but every little helps.

Bees and worms are two of the most important critters on this planet.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.744 which ranks you at #1418 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1414).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great post @goldendawne, nice to see your garden patch! You are making conscious choices and decisions to help the planet and yourself naturally, which is commendable. We are all doing our bit, and as long as we are trying, it's a step in the right direction.

Thank you for saying that! Every day, week, month and year I try to find new ways to change and make things more eco-friendly.

Community gardens are an excellent idea, maybe if there were more of them around people would actually get to know each other, besides the produce from the gardens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44