earthbag earthship

in #earthbag6 years ago

so back when I first joined steemit I wrote about the house I was goingt to be building and that was going to be a earthbag earthship, I had looked at ways of filling the bags up and thought about pvc pipe but could not find a good priced solution and looked else ware and found a 8 inch concrete tube and it comes in 48 inch lengths so cutting it in half I am able to get 2 filling tubes, at 10 dollars for the 48 inch tube so 5 dollars for each or the 2 filler tubes, can get 5 or 10 of the 48 inch tubes and have 10 or 20 bag filling tubes, I did some testing and found I could fill 10 bags in about 15 minutes which will be a pretty good click on filling bags,

sandbag fill.jpg

sandbag filling.jpg

stack.jpg

As you can see I got a plan and believe it will work very well, and with nearly an estimated 3000 bags to fill I need every advantage I can get, I am seeing an average of 40 bag and hr, looking at 85 bags on the long side, and 45 bags on the sides there abouts,

I have also looking at a hybrid now of putting in 2X6X12 post every 8 feet to support the beams for the roof so I have done some modifications to the plans but it will be a morfing build as I go.

so as my adventure takes off I hope I am lucky to get this done and have my off grid homestead

Sort:  

very good luck! i also am planning to build a new hybrid model of Earthship (tyre foundation) and earthbag.. The best thing about earthbag is that you can make the roof with it which saves a fortune!

are you stabilising the dirt? it looks like gravel rather than clay based.. so 10% cement might be advisable and definitely double bag the first few courses

Im test running this with the sand and crushed shell, but it will be clay based, also I am actually laying the bags short ways not long ways creating a 22 inch thick wall not the roughly 8 inch walls, therefore going to have very sturdy walls and very insulated

It's a lot of work, but think about how great it will be when finished!

It's a lot of work, but think about how great it will be when finished!

Congratulations @nowherehomestead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14