INNOCENCE - Part 1

in #e7 years ago (edited)

I was full of energy to run around the village with other children. we were excited to go to the Temple or Wat for the celebration of Buddha's birthday. We were assured of different varieties of food. Thai people are passionate about pork dishes.

Elders are all dressed in white and Monks are in their ochre robes. The chanting of hymns from Buddhist holy books was heard all over the village.

There were some three hundred houses, a school, playground and neat roads. Every one of us had the liberty to walk into anyone's home, to talk, eat and play. Thai language is a tonal language and it is musical to listen to, the sing-song tone. We speak loudly with neighbors, and all speak with all at the same time.

It was early morning when the Chief Monk was delivering a sermon on the Buddha's life in our local Buddhist temple (Wat). The front row was occupied by the dignitaries and the rich people of the village. They were serving colas, fantas, and tea to the gathering. We kids silently tiptoed to the serving point to pick up our glasses. We were always hungry for food, and we were waiting patiently for the discourse to complete. It took nearly two hours to complete the chanting by all of the ten Monks. The food was served first to the Monks as a sign of respect.

Once the function was completed, all of us rushed to dining area to pick up our plates. Rice, pork soup, curry, chicken, fruits, sweets, tea and coffee were served. We ate with great relish, had second and third servings, our faces were bright and we realized that we were sweating. Once we finished our food, we scooted from there, to play with our pigs, dogs and buffalos. We used to conduct Buffalo races. We used to collect grasshoppers, big ants, scorpions, silk worms, fry them and eat them. Yes, we are Pagans, from earth to earth. We eat only twice a day, early in the morning before going to the field to work, and evening, before going to bed, by seven or eight in the night.

Everyone got together around seven for a chit chat in our neighborhood. I asked my uncle, why we don't eat like this everyday, as we ate in the Wat function. Everyone started laughing out loudly. Well, we cannot afford it, it is too expensive. I pursued, why we don't have money like some of our rich neighbors? My Mom said it is the will of Buddha. Why Buddha is not giving more money to us, like others in our village?, I prodded. My Dad told me, that there are more rich people in Bangkok. I blurted out saying, I want to be rich. My Grandma told, if you have good Karma, you will be rich one day.

I was a seven year old girl, I was already brainwashed in many aspects of life. I should be careful and respect rich kids, keep distance from poor children and the importance of money in life.

I wanted to know what is Good karma and how to make money. I was with my friend, we went to meet the Monk in the temple to ask these questions. The Monk told me to study well, help Mum at home in daily chores, don't harm anyone and don't fight with friends. You will get good Karma and money. I was not satisfied, I insisted to know more on the subject. He was surprised and explained the theory of Karma.

There are three types of Karma. When we arrive on this earth, we bring a bag full of Karma, known as Sanchita Karma. Your accumulated good, bad and ugly of previous births. In Sanskrit language, Sanchu means BAG. Thai culture is influenced by Indian, Chinese and Siam cultures. The second one is Prarabdha Karma, that is your previous births intrinsic nature. Whether you like it or not, you are made like that. The third one is Nithya Karma, that is the Karma or cause and effect, accumulated from day to day activities of good, bad and ugly. The cumulative effect of all these three Karmas will decide your life style in next birth. If, you do good, you will have a good life in next birth.

I asked that Monk, what is my Karma in this birth, he smiled at me and said, be good, do good, work hard and help others to be happy and peaceful in life, this is more important than money.

I was confused, little satisfied, thanked the Monk, prostrated and took his blessings.

I was intent in doing good Karma and make lots of money.

Well, more in SECOND Part...

Sort:  

Very interesting. Looking forward to the next part

Congratulations @godliness2643! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good insight into Thai culture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42