Dyslexia support group in Singapore

in #dyslexia7 years ago

I am from Singapore and recently started a dyslexia parent support group, with the intention of reaching out to parents of dyslexic children. It can be overwhelming when you first discover that your child may have some learning difficulties. What is dyslexia, what should you do next, where should you get help, how do you help your child?

My journey with my dyslexic daughter, E, started 7 years ago. She was diagnosed by an Educational Psychologist as dyslexic when she was 6. Following that, my husband and I made the decision to apply to the Ministry of Education to delay her admission to Primary 1 because we saw that her confidence level was very low and we wanted to do what we can to give her the necessary interventions before the demands of our mainstream curriculum overwhelmed her. I went about researching the condition and read up as much as I could, including the interventions available.

For the next one year, E received the necessary interventions and by the time she entered Primary 1 the following year, she was a different person. Her self-esteem shot up and she was ready to learn.

The journey from suspecting that E might have some learning difficulties, to seeking out professionals for advice, to researching and selecting the intervention program for her, had been a daunting but enriching experience. Instead of keeping what I have learnt or sharing my experiences within my circle of friends, I decided to set up the support group to reach a wider audience and for parents to interact, share and support each other.

You can visit our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/dyslexiasupportsg

Sort:  

It is good to hear of your daughter's success! It sounds like you did the hard work necessary to provide her with the interventions that prepared her school. Not an easy task and certainly not typical based on my experience as a school psychologist. I will check out your facebook support page.

Actually it is not that difficult. I was thankful to have found a really good intervention program. That makes the difference. Sometimes we complicate things or not focusing on the right thing when trying to find solutions. I have more information up on the Facebook page. Feel free to visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76