Some houses, a bit of relaxing and other silly things

in #dunite6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Yesterday I had a day off. It's amazing as it's the first of four free days I have and I am excited. I'm slowly getting into rhythm and I can't wait to get back to posting.

I did some practice yesterday. Doing silly things. Testing out some things I thought of in the last 30 or more days and so on. I'm gonna share with you my end results and my creating process for one of the houses (the only one I managed to do as I was so excited to draw again).

These are the end results of my drawing session.

As I was thinking about a web comic I tried that at first, but wasn't really happy with the end result. It looked too silly for what I had in mind. Too cute.

Then I made this worm creature for D&D. I like the style of it. Needs a bit more work. Personally I think it turned out decent and no one would recognize it. That would lead the party to it probably attack it, and their ultimate demise (I think that it would).

And finally I started with houses and huts. Quick strokes, no thinking. My mind was mostly empty and I didn't force anything.

Now as I look at those I see some things I could improve and make them better, but I am happy with how they turned out. They are simple but effective and I like the style of it. I think I'll make more.

Step by step


This one I'll share with you step by step.
As always I started with base pencil shape. You can always erase it, modify it or improve on design and add the detail. The KEY for it is not to push your pencil too hard on the paper. Draw those first lines lightly. It doesn't matter if you miss one or all of them. Play with it.

I now notice I missed a step. Where I added some details and changed some things. You can do that with pencil and when you're happy you can outline it with your pen or fine liner or even fountain pen. It depends on what you want to use. Try out all sorts of things and go with what works for you.

You can then erase the pencil lines and it will be easy as they were drawn lightly, and parts that are drawn with fine liner don't matter that much. Go lightly and take your time. For coloring I decided to use colored pencils as I haven't used them for quite some time. Greens are so easy and relaxing.

For the walls I picked grays and they were done quickly. If you're not sure how to color something, scan it or take a photo and print it out. Then you can color it multiple times and make more than one variant. You can re draw it and see if you can improve on it. Change things, try different angles. It doesn't have to be perfect. Have fun!

For roof tiles I went a bit silly and mixed two reds and mauve which turned out to be a great combination. It gives life and soul to that little house. If I ever decide to add the sky I think I'll go with very light blue and puffy clouds. I may use watercolors, but for now I'll leave it as it is.

And it is done. I honestly don't know how long it took for me to finish that one as I was lost in the process. It didn't matter how long it took. I had fun and was probably smiling all the way through. I just wanted to do more.

This is all from me for now, but I'll post more soon.
Be good, have fun and keep steemin!
@zneeke

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Beautiful post, @zneeke ! Love the step by step and how you narrate throughout the process <3 The result is very adorable <3 Great detailing and your choice of colours are both on point !!! <3

Thanks :) I'm glad you like it.
You should always have fun with what you do :)

They are cute, loved the ruins and mushroom version.
I need a home, would move there anytime. Looks like my kind of house
Thanks for sharing the works in progress

Thanks :)
My favorites are with towers :D
I like them, probably because wizards are cool :p

Very nice! Like you said simple but effective.. they are cute, and the colours really fit the drawings well.. good job!

Thank you :)
I went for that style as I like it a lot. Bonus is that I'm starting to believe in my creativity and color picking more and more.

I'll take the 3rd house... when can I move in?

As soon as you wish, or right away :)
Which ever works better for you. ;)

heh... I'm allready packing my stuff... I hope it's ok that I'll bring a bunch of fluffy kittens along :P

Sure thing. They will get their climbing trees and everything else they need :)

This is so cool! Yeah adding more color to the roof was a great idea, really makes it more alive and stand out. I'm very happy you're posting art posts again and can't wait to see more! :D

Heyy :) How are you doing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80