Wizards of the coast

They bought out the dungeons and dragons franchise from TSR years ago, and proceeded to streamline the gaming system.

Along with that, they introduced a pure d20 system along with it. And took away many other things from the gaming experience.

Of course, if we were looking for a more difficult set of rules to play with there is a long list of other systems to choose from. But this was the classic.

The dungeons and dragons system is one of, it not the most commonly recognized game put there as far as paper and pen adventures go.

With technology taking over, and video games. I understand that they wanted to simplify everything to help appeal to a new generation of gamers.

But did they go too far with the fourth edition release?

Well, I never had any interest in finding out.

But the fifth edition may prove to be more promising. Tomorrow evening we will be sitting down to go through it on an adventure. To open the world of possibilities to the potential that not all the old school games and interests are always the best.

Sort:  

Ive heard 5th was the apology for 4th...its basically 2nd & pathfinder had baby ive heard...i only play 2nd or path so id be down to try but have no real group aroind here to start, most shops here all have store promoted groups & theres the teens who play 4th(god rest their souls)...id be down to net campaign but not in a position to do so time/space wise

#tabletop-rpg #pnprpg @petersonsdc

I'm very much in the same boat time/space wise. Just glad to still have a group of friends around who I've grown up with over the years
Time ebbs and flows in interesting ways. You might do well to join one of the store run groups for sure.

Thanks for using the Hashtag (#tabletop-rpg)!!!

Personally, I haven't played (or even looked at) 5e yet, and only played a few games with 4e.

3.x and Pathfinder I got into pretty hard, but my current love is Pinnacle's Savage Worlds. I have a post in the works about it.

Back to 5e - the things I have heard about it sounds very positive and have piqued my interest recently - its just a matter of finding the time.

@darkbish It may be worthwhile to talk to the shop owners and see if there are openings or possibly local groups looking for players. I've had a lot of luck through the years using the shop's resources and outreach to build groups of players.

I'm currently playing two 5e games ... although I'm a fan I think the last I played was 3 and I barely remember it, so I don't have much to compare it to ... finally found a good group in my area - I'd love to DM but we've only been playing for about 6 months now and I don't know the rules well enough to feel comfortable doing it. I don't suppose anyone is a Critical Role fan? I'm a lover of the show ... and since it's on in 10 mins I'm out of here :D

Its hard here cause I'm mixed into a conflict between shop cohorts & the local anime convention staff, I also am the only driver in my house hold so I would need a group for me & my girl which most groups around here that have openings only want one cause most groups here want 4 or 6 & have either 3 or 5...I've tried to start a 2nd ED game myself & it kinda flopped due to work schedule changes that are semi frequent.

No excuses but I'm just looking at it as a not yet. It's destiny/fate which ever you believe possible.

I love the old school TSR editions, because that's what I've grown up with. The 2nd edition Player's Handbook and DM's Guide are in my opinion the best rulebooks ever made for fantasy settings. I've participated in Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft and home-made campaigns under those rules and I have staged the Dragonlance Saga myself. I have seen the modern editions in conventions, impressive and luxurious but I have to say that I felt a little betrayed and resented that modern clean look.

There is a great steemit artist posting old-school AD&D stuff if anyone wants to check him out: @xyanthon

#tabletop-rpg #pnprpg @petersonsdc

I did check him out, and following. Thanks for a great tip, @nyarlathotep.

I must confess - I never played any of the old school d&d, but I have managed to collect quite a few of the books and supplements.

I've been carrying some resentment towards the newer version. Especially after what they e done. But after a few weeks I'm finding the game flows in a good way. Especially when only two of the five of us have spent any amount of time devoted to campaigns through the years. This is something I've been doing since I was 8 years old. Had an awesome upbringing. And now, the new system seems like a good way to bring new attention starved players into the game. Keeps things moving quick, and it's fun. But the spell compendium is not what it used to be with their new layout.

I have not played with the new system, so I can't really say anything concrete about it; it's just that it feels rather simplistic to me. I've played several old RPGs (D&D, AD&D, Cthulhu, Nephilim, Vampire, Mage, Wraith, Ars Magica, Warhammer, Stormbringer, etc) and being over 40 now, I can't help but feel nostalgic about those years.

Personally, I prefer the complex & detailed rule systems, like Warhammer RPG and Nephilim,but I believe that a good DM with decent players can stage a very thrilling session, no matter what rules are used.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01