The Jester's Aubade - Danny Hamilton & Serena Matthews (ukulele iPhone duet)

in #duet6 years ago (edited)

Back in 2010, I wrote this quirky little love song, for an independent film that my friend Ian Harris had written about the lives of comedians. Although that film has yet to be made, the tune did find it's way into a DIFFERENT indie film, thanks to the magical world of Facebook. Serena and I have a mutual friend, Stephen Savage, who is also a fantastic director, writer & film maker. He saw the video above and thought the song was perfect for a certain scene in his film Vertical. So, that's the story of how I got my first movie placement! :)

Oh, and back in 2010, it was a HUGE accomplishment to get the amazing Serena Matthews (@paintingangels) to agree on a collaboration! Then, after she so graciously took the time to record her parts and email them back to me, I had the audacity to ask her if she'd record a VIDEO of herself that I could splice together for this iPhone duet idea I had...

Well, as you can see, she declined and asked if I could please find someone else to be a puppet for my ridiculousness!! Hahahaha. So, I convinced my friend Rachel Holmes to grab her ukulele and do some miming on camera. The rest is history! (Although, I'm noticing that Serena is FAR less fearful of the video camera these days... I wonder if all you beautiful Steemit friends might be able to help me convince her to finally record her video parts for me to splice in!) ;)

Serena has been one of my favorite people EVER to duet with, and she is also one of my favorite human beings on this planet. Hopefully we can duet again soon! (And someday, in PERSON!) :)

Sort:  

Very nice. I have enjoyed :-)

Why do I love this so much? Have I been bamboozled and brainwashed into Fandom compliance...

its brilliant!!! please guys do this for open mic again, it would be amazing!!!

Thank you so much. And that is a GREAT idea!! 😀

This video deserves way more than my automatic 5% dust vote, so I removed it and gave it a full tilt vote.
I'm with meno on this one, I'd love to see this one done on open mic!

Thank you, Amber! I would love to do a fresh version for the open mic... Let’s see if Serena is up for it 😜

this sounds great! fantastic playing and singing

But , silly boy! I can't play ukulele! Ha! I guess I could air guitar it. But I LOVE Rachel's performance I think it should always be like this. It's just a bonus that it confuses people at times. Ah ha ha.. 😎

Ok... How about some video for our NEXT duet then? 😍

🌨🌦🌤☀️🌈

BTW... You CAN play the ukulele. Anyone who plays guitar can play the ukulele. The chord structures are exactly the same, just minus the bottom two strings. (And the uke is tuned higher, so although the FINGER positions are the same, the actual chords aren't. It's basically like having the capo on the 4th fret of your guitar) Pick one up next time you're in a music shop, and play a D chord fingering. You'll see. MUCH easier on the fingers too. :)

Congratulations @dannyhamilton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dannyhamilton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17