You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicken Eggs vs. Duck Eggs

in #ducks7 years ago

I have 5 chickens, all different breeds, and they produce about 28 eggs a week for me total. I am in the process of building a small pond for 2 ducks because imo duck eggs are tastier. They are way more rich in flavor, some people actually don't like them because they are so thick and rich. But I love them! The duck eggs are bigger for sure, but I would definitely look into different breeds of birds to see what they have to offer vs. what you're expectations are.

Sort:  

thanks for reply and input

Wow 28 eggs! So..do the ducks take more effort to take care of? Seeing that you need to build them a pond?

Well ducks need a water source, more than just the small water bowl I have for my chickens. I could probably just get by with a kiddie pool, but I like the added benefit of the beautifulness of a cascading waterfall into a small pond with ducks chilling. As for every day care, I wouldn't say either are more or less work. If you have a pond already on your property they will go there and return to the coop at night if you train them right.

"beautifulness of a cascading waterfall into a small pond with ducks chilling"
Sounds like a pretty sight. Good luck on that project.😉 hope it turns out well and the ducks like it.lucky ducks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45