Ecotrain QOTW: why do vegans experience so much hate towards them?

in #dtubesnapplus6 years ago (edited)


One thing I didn't talk about here but came to mind is the reason why I gave up meat was I felt that I was energically indegesting death and suffering and was making me more stressed and aggressive. I don't know if there is any science to prove this but its just a feeling. All humans are different and respond differently. There are many people I know who eat meat and they are really nice. But I do wonder how much eating meat affects our brain and if it can make us more aggressive?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

hmmm. I thought this post was about how much vegans seem to hate non-vegans. I have noticed a lot of HATE coming from vegans toward non-vegans, and I find it interesting. Maybe human beings are programmed to blame the opposite group of people vs. practicing tolerance which is a spiritual principle.

Hi :) did I phrase the title wrong? I was just answering the question of the week by @ecotrain which was why vegans experience so much hate towards them. I mentioned in the video about vegan actually being quite preechy... I find that happens alot to people when they first get into veganism because it just reinforces their choice which can be very hard at first, it becomes difficult to eat meals with family and friends, they don't want to be tempted back into their old eating habits. Veganism became really big so think it will take a while for things to settle but reality is not all vegans are necessarily spiritual.

thanks for your reply! i am a non-vegan who tries to be a vegan. I am trying again now, mainly for health reasons but I also know that I am acting against my truth by eating animals - I have a caveat which is that if I raised the animals myself, I might be able to eat them, but prob not. Until that time, I do need to be vegan for health reasons, but it has been so difficult. I have tried about 4 times. this is the 4th time. This time I am not going to tell anyone. I understand the reason that vegans have to defend themselves and all that because I have given up other things that people in my family think are ridiculous to give up and I have had to take the heat for that over the years - I am not going to get into any controversy because I understand the cognative dossonance and all of it and it's a personal choice on my part - my BFF is not vegan nor is he going vegan but he supports me 100% because he sees my health issue and he does not want me to get sick - so that's a plus.

I'm sorry to hear about your health issue, I know a few people who have had to do the same and even their partners finally come round to your eating habits.if you only cook meals that are vegan then they will eat them and they will have to manage their own meat cravings, its its good ur BFF is supportive tho! It was certainly easier for me as me and my partner did it together, and baby steps cutting out meat first, then fish, then diary, then eggs. Try to see it as a lifestyle choice which takes time to adjust to, following vegans on social media will help with getting ideas for recipes and honestly what u start to eat becomes more interesting than just meat dishes and obv much healthier! Getting enough beans and lentils feels u up + fills the protein craving as well as mushrooms. Jackfruit pulled pork is one of my fab meat subs as well as homemade tofu and vegan fried chicken :) keep your fuel up with nuts seeds and bananas.... Wishing you all the best for your health journey and I'm here for support any time! X

thank you so much for those tips!!! a friend who is a vegan chef is going to help me - he is going to use me as his guinea pig for teaching classes...I am doing the lemonade diet right now - day 6 - it's hard this time. I am hungry and have been sneaking nuts :) a few only. But I will do this for 10 days or maybe a few more if I can stand it. It' s a good reset. I will probably try to just go directly from the lemonade diet to vegan and not go back at all. Right at the holidays of course! LOL! But I probably won't want that food after this cleanse - because veggies taste so much better after this cleanse. Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74