You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 045 - Thinking about my music career

in #dtubedaily7 years ago

You have some really good stories with music. I never liked to play gigs which I think is about 90% of the way to succeed in music. It might just have been the area I lived in and my unwillingness to travel. Since I married my wife when we were young starting our lives together took the forefront. My big thing was writing and recording original music. I never really sent anything in and whenever I did get attention I would never come to agreements because I was paranoid about being taken advantage of. Nowadays I prefer not to think about how I should have played my hand I am just glad I created recordings that if not anything else are like photos of my past. I've noticed that you have (what I am guessing is) a Presonus studio live mixer. Do you like it? I've always been interested and getting one.

Sort:  

Thanks for your response Tim. Writing and recording is all fairly new to me. I'm not sure where I'll go with it really. I've been following Joe Gilder's content for a couple of years and learned a great deal about recording and mixing. I also took Ian Shepherd's home mastering masterclass and that too was a big learning curve, but ultimately worthwhile.

It is indeed a PreSonus Studio Live mixer, the Series III. It's expensive, but it's absolutely superb. I bought it to live mix the wedding band I played with, then we broke up. I'm kinda loathe to sell it, so if I can make it work for live streaming I'll be able to justify keeping it I think. I did consider getting out there and running live sound for other bands, but it's an island and there's a company that already kinda has that market sown up. It's run by friends of mine and it's a community interest company, meaning non profit basically. So I'm not sure how I would even complete with that! I can highly recommend PreSonus gear though. It's top drawer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53