D-Tube Cover - What A Wonderful World - Louis Armstrong - Sung by Melissa Kellie

in #dtubedaily7 years ago


Hey D-tubians!
I used to always listen to this song when i was feeling down
as it's got such a positive message :)
This is my cover of What A Wonderful World
which was made famous by Louis Armstrong and was written
by Bob Thiale and George David weiss.
Press on the photo above to listen to the cover on Dtube :)

divider-clipart-line-clipart-divider-pencil-and-in-color-line-clipart-divider-music-clipart.png
A Little bit of background

The song was initially offered to Tony Bennett, who turned it down. Thereafter, it was offered to Louis Armstrong. George Weiss recounts in the book Off the Record: Songwriters on Songwriting by Graham Nash that he wrote the song specifically for Louis Armstrong. Weiss was inspired by Armstrong's ability to bring people of different races together. The song was not initially a hit in the United States, where it sold fewer than 1,000 copies because ABC Records head Larry Newton did not like the song and therefore did not promote it, but was a major success in the United Kingdom, reaching number one on the UK Singles Chart. In the United States, the song hit No. 116 on the Billboard Bubbling Under Chart. It was also the biggest-selling single of 1968 in the UK where it was among the last pop singles issued by HMV Records before becoming an exclusive classical music label. The song made Louis Armstrong the oldest male to top the UK Singles Chart. Armstrong's record was broken in 2009 when a remake of "Islands in the Stream" recorded for Comic Relief—which included the 68-year-old Tom Jones—reached number one in that chart. Tony Bennett did go on to record "What A Wonderful World" several times, as in 2003 with k.d. lang, paying homage to Bennett's friend, Armstrong.

ABC Records' European distributor EMI forced ABC to issue a What a Wonderful World album in 1968 (catalogue number ABCS-650). It did not chart in the United States, due to ABC not promoting it, but charted in the UK where it was issued by Stateside Records with catalogue number SSL 10247 and peaked on the British chart at No. 37.

The song gradually became something of a standard and reached a new level of popularity. In 1978, Armstrong's 1967 recording was featured in the closing scenes of the first series of BBC radio's cult hit, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, and was repeated for BBC's 1981 TV adaptation of the series. In 1988, Armstrong's recording appeared in the film Good Morning, Vietnam (despite the film being set in 1965 — two years before it was recorded) and was re-released as a single, hitting No. 32 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in February 1988. The single charted at number one for the fortnight ending June 27, 1988 on the Australian chart. It is also the closing song for the 1995 movie 12 Monkeys.

In 2001, rappers Ghostface Killah, Raekwon and The Alchemist released "The Forest," a song that begins with three lines of lyric adapted from "What a Wonderful World", altered to become "an invitation to get high" on marijuana. The rappers and their record company, Sony Music Entertainment, were sued by the owners of "What a Wonderful World," Abilene Music. The suit was thrown out of court after Judge Gerard E. Lynch determined that the altered lyric was indisputably a parody, transforming the uplifting original message to a new one with a darker nature.

By April 2014, Louis Armstrong's 1967 recording had sold 2,173,000 downloads in the United States after it was released digitally.
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/What_a_Wonderful_World

divider-clipart-line-clipart-divider-pencil-and-in-color-line-clipart-divider-music-clipart.png

What a wonderful world Lyrics

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
They're really saying I love you
I hear babies crying, I watch them grow
They'll learn much more than I'll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
Yes I think to myself what a wonderful world

divider-clipart-line-clipart-divider-pencil-and-in-color-line-clipart-divider-music-clipart.png

()

Thanks so much for listening :)

~ Melissa Kellie


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

one of my all time favourits... nicely interpreted by you... well done.

Wow! I like ur voice keep it up dear.

Welcome dear

Hello @melissakellie. I really like your post.
I want to be your friend

Thanks @nisfa14 i'm glad you enjoyed it :)

I think i'm in love with your voice 💘 !! I'm following you now !

Aww thank you i'm glad you enjoy it :)

I've always loved this song . You completely made it your own. Your voice sounds silky smooth as always. And I like that you have your own unique style of playing. Very beautiful, Mel. I'm a big fan ~ Jack :)

Thanks @stephlboy :) glad you enjoyed it :)

Can we be friends @melissakellie? I'd love to sing with you. I think our voices would work so well together.

Hello @melissakellie . Sorry to bother you .
Post a video to DTube star system blockchain error?
Do you know about this issue?

Hi isn't the video working for you?

A beautiful cover from a beautiful woman!
Keep it going =)

Aw thank you :)

I think i'm in love with your voice 💘 !! I'm following you now !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47